"Could not create Direct3D Driver".

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
been09
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:36 pm

"Could not create Direct3D Driver".

Post by been09 »

I used to use Irrlicht a long time ago and it worked perfectly with my currenty setup. I was going through the tutorials to refresh my memory and tried to run the Quake3 map program.

When I chose either of the DirectX driver's I got a message that it could not create the driver. My video card supports up to Direct X 9.0c and I have the run-times properly installed. All other programs that require Direct X work properly, but Irrlicht for some reason just won't even load it up.

Any solution? I already searched the forums and found no real answer to this, and no, it's not the .dlls problem.
been09
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:36 pm

Irrlicht 1.1

Post by been09 »

I downloaded Irrlicht 1.1 and used it in the place for Irrlicht 1.2 for the files, and the Direct3D 8 and 9 works perfectly. Is it some problem with my files or Irrlicht itself? For now I'm just going to use 1.1 until the 1.2 problems are sorted out.
rlwoodjr
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 2:07 am

Post by rlwoodjr »

I had the same problem. I changed some settings to true in the create device, now directx works.

Code from my program:
device = createDevice(driverType, core::dimension2d<s32>(1024, 768), 32, true, true, true,&receiver );
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

I think it was a problem with the device creation concerning depth choice. It should be fixed with the latest SVN so should work in the next release.
roxaz
Posts: 575
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:35 pm
Location: LT

Post by roxaz »

been09, maybe you are using gcc compiler? there isnt directix support for gcc yet.
been09
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:36 pm

Visual Express

Post by been09 »

I use Visual Express, anyway, it really isn't an issue anymore since I'm sure the problem will be fixed soon enough. I don't really program enough to see the difference between 1.1 or 1.2, so it's a non-issue.
Post Reply