again my isometric engine

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
rogerdv
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 4:20 pm

again my isometric engine

Post by rogerdv »

After analizying my code, I feel that Im doing something wrong. So, i would like to ask if somebody has some similar implementation that can share with me so I can see the right method.
The problem is that I dont know if I must add all nodes to the scene or simply the nodes in the area Im going to render. If i have to add all nodes, how can I optimize rendering to avoid displaying non visible areas?
ru guo ni yao ai, ni jiang bu hui shi qu
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

The engine does an 'automatic culling', so you could add all scene nodes if you like.Tthe bounding box of every scene node is tested against the view frustrum before rendering. This works very well for <1000 objects, but if you have more, you'll have to do it your own or wait for some new releases, or it would be too slow.
saigumi
Posts: 921
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:31 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Post by saigumi »

Add only the nodes that you need.

After playing Disgaea, I started playing around turning my BlockQuest code into a turn based isometric game and strangly, it's working well.

Though, the gameboard I use ends up only being 50x50 (maximum of 2500 tiles to stand on)

If your trying to have the world continue expanding, this page may give you some ideas on how to handle it.

http://www.saigumi.net/archives/000021.html
Crud, how do I do this again?
rogerdv
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2003 4:20 pm

Post by rogerdv »

niko wrote:The engine does an 'automatic culling', so you could add all scene nodes if you like.Tthe bounding box of every scene node is tested against the view frustrum before rendering. This works very well for <1000 objects, but if you have more, you'll have to do it your own or wait for some new releases, or it would be too slow.
Indeed, after fixing my code I noticed it runs faster now (before I was adding nodes right before render and several times, surely it was stupid).
ru guo ni yao ai, ni jiang bu hui shi qu
Post Reply