probably a lame question, but...

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
anubis55
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:46 pm
Location: Australia

probably a lame question, but...

Post by anubis55 »

OK I'll admit I'm new to this IRRLICHT thing. But it sure does look good to me. I've been struggling through the tutorials and I'm just plain stuck :(
I would like to use an IRR file (as in loading IRR files tutorial), but when I use any texture other than the #default_font, it won't load. Fortunately the DOS window shows what is or isn't happening. The meshes load OK, but not the textures. Where am I going wrong??

All help would be greatly appreciated.
Azert
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:34 am
Location: Belgium

Post by Azert »

I'm also new to Irrlicht, but I had some problems with textures myself: the textures couldn't load if they were in an other directory than the one the mesh is in. Also, if I made a level or mesh and I added textures, I use the textures from the same directory I wanted to store the mesh. And also some texture formats aren't supported by Irrlicht (I had problems with .GIFF files).

Hope it helped you out, but I'm a noob myself, so actually you better don't trust my oppinion :?
Strong99
Admin
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 7:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Strong99 »

in the .x models you can specify in wich directory they are.
anubis55
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:46 pm
Location: Australia

Post by anubis55 »

Thanks for the quick response. I have modified the code from the tutorial only slightly to put in an IRR file that I oput together in IRREDIT 0.6.

smgr->loadScene("../../media/iala.irr");

I have all the textures in the same folder ../../media/.

I just can't understand, 'cause the meshes are MD2 files and I'm loading them from a completely different drive.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Maybe you're using an IDE which uses a subdirectory structure to put the binaries to? Because this would lead to a different relative path (add another ../ ) but files from other drivers would work since they use absolute paths.
Blackmore
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 7:00 pm

Post by Blackmore »

try moving the textures to the same dir as the exe file and then write just "iala.irr"
anubis55
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:46 pm
Location: Australia

Post by anubis55 »

I'm using IRREDIT0.6 to put the whole scene together. I have located the tutorial's exe in the \bin\Win32-VisualStudio folder, so I put the textures in there as well. Still only loads the default textures. It keeps saying it can't open the file of the texture and gives the path, but the path is correct. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm :(
roxaz
Posts: 575
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 8:35 pm
Location: LT

Post by roxaz »

i had same problem. open yopur project's properties, under debug section look for "Working Directory", there enter value $(TargetDir) and thats all ;)
anubis55
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Sep 22, 2006 11:46 pm
Location: Australia

Post by anubis55 »

Thanx roxaz. I tried that but it didn't help either. I'll tray again in the morning. I have never really gotten the hang of Visual C++.
Post Reply