Starting another 3D-App from inside Irrlicht?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
noreg
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:01 pm
Location: continental europe

Starting another 3D-App from inside Irrlicht?

Post by noreg »

Anybody has some hints how to do it and which problems could arise? Do you have to stick to one interface, like using only OpenGL OR Driect3D? For the beginning it would be sufficient to be able to start some Blender exes from Irrlicht.
datamagik
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Bar Harbor, Maine USA

Post by datamagik »

Programs are composed of data types and the methods or functions for manipulating them. To actually combine two programs you will need to at least be familiar with the features of those two programs.

Since Irrlicht uses object oriented programming throughout it is fairly straightforward to get at those classes. Blender (as I understand it) relies heavily on a scripting language to perform many of its tasks (PERL as I recall).

Since Irrlicht 3D Engine is a library, you could create an application with a PERL interface (probably just a simple command line interface), then create or modify the Blender PERL scripts to make the two talk to each other.
noreg
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:01 pm
Location: continental europe

Post by noreg »

Thanks for your answer. But thats already too much. I don't want to exchange data yet. Just start the other exe and after termination continuing with my Irrlicht app. Kinda exec command.
noreg
Posts: 158
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:01 pm
Location: continental europe

Post by noreg »

Ok, i thought this is a newbie question. It probably is a C++ newbie and not really Irrlicht related. I am sorry i don't know the right C++ function. But i would really appreciate if someone could help with that (i assume) supernewbie question.
xDan
Competition winner
Posts: 673
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 1:23 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by xDan »

If I understand you right, and you are using windows, it may be CreateProcess you are looking for
http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms682425.aspx

also there is a system("") command in stdlib.h
Post Reply