is it possible editing bitmaps

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
mab_5_uk
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:11 am
Location: Swansea

Post by mab_5_uk »

ha arras i was using Irrlicht 0.14 so i have tryd updating to Irrlicht 1.3 and it sems to build now but when i run the program it crashis on startup :?
Luben
Posts: 568
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 10:12 am
Location: #irrlicht @freenode

Post by Luben »

If you have custom scene nodes, make sure that the functions returning/getting the type u32/s32 really are changed, otherwise for example getMaterial will be the ISceneNode one.
If you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all.
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

mab_5_uk >> code I was posting is compiling and running on my sistem.

If applycation crashes on startup it mostly is due to accesing something out of its bounds. Make sure you are not accesing out of array somewhere. Its easy to do since you are working with naked pointer to texture. Other than that I realy dont have idea.

In this kind of situations I try to find problem in this way:
I coment everything except most basiz things like device creating, running, driver->beginScene and similar things.

Then I try to uncoment blocks of code one by one until I find line which cause crash. Then examine what might be wrong.
christianclavet
Posts: 1638
Joined: Mon Apr 30, 2007 3:24 am
Location: Montreal, CANADA
Contact:

Post by christianclavet »

Hi. mab_5_uk

Does the engine support alpha channels? Have you tried to do this with a PNG file? You could do the hole in the texture in Photoshop and define the hole as an alpha channel and save it.

I've not tried this, because I'm new to the engine and a beginner in C++.

Would that work in IRRLicht? :?:

Regards,
Christian Clavet
mab_5_uk
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2006 12:11 am
Location: Swansea

Post by mab_5_uk »

ha arras just to let you no i've finaly got it working it turned out i had the old irrlicht.dll file in the directory my bad.

any way thanks for all your help i appreciate it mate :D

plus christianclavet irrlicht does have the ability to suppot .PNG files hope this helps
Post Reply