OpenGL driver version is not 1.2 or better

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
JonLT
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Denmark

OpenGL driver version is not 1.2 or better

Post by JonLT »

when trying to help out here, I found that there was something wrong with my OpenGL driver.
When I create the irrlicht device with the OpenGL driver the following comes up in the console:

Code: Select all

Irrlicht Engine version 1.3.1
Microsoft Windows XP Personal Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
Using renderer: OpenGL 1.3.1072
RADEON 9200 Series DDR x86/MMX/3DNow!/SSE: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL driver version is not 1.2 or better.
I'm i little puzzled: First it says the version is 1.3.1072, and then it says that the version is not 1.2 or better.
Isn't 1.3.1072 better that 1.2? :?
What are the consequences of this?
catron
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 1:54 am

Post by catron »

lol same:

Code: Select all

Please select the driver you want for this example:
 (a) Direct3D 9.0c
 (b) Direct3D 8.1
 (c) OpenGL 1.5
 (d) Software Renderer
 (e) Burning's Software Renderer
 (f) NullDevice
 (otherKey) exit

c
Irrlicht Engine version 1.3.1
Microsoft Windows XP Personal Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
Using renderer: OpenGL 1.4.0
Intel 915GM: Intel
OpenGL driver version is not 1.2 or better.
Loaded texture: ../../media/irrlichtlogo2.png
Generated terrain data (256x256) in 0.4120 seconds
Loaded texture: ../../media/terrain-texture.jpg
Loaded texture: ../../media/detailmap3.jpg
Loaded texture: ../../media/irrlicht2_bk.jpg
Loaded texture: ../../media/irrlicht2_ft.jpg
Loaded texture: ../../media/irrlicht2_rt.jpg
Loaded texture: ../../media/irrlicht2_lf.jpg
Loaded texture: ../../media/irrlicht2_dn.jpg
Loaded texture: ../../media/irrlicht2_up.jpg
JediTrooper87
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jun 16, 2007 6:13 am
Location: Kansas

Post by JediTrooper87 »

I have the same problem, the program crashes and my driver stops working when I use OpenGL as well. I just figured it was my video card because it only does it on my laptop.
Dances
Posts: 454
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 1:45 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: OpenGL driver version is not 1.2 or better

Post by Dances »

JonLT wrote:when trying to help out here, I found that there was something wrong with my OpenGL driver.
When I create the irrlicht device with the OpenGL driver the following comes up in the console:

Code: Select all

Irrlicht Engine version 1.3.1
Microsoft Windows XP Personal Service Pack 2 (Build 2600)
Using renderer: OpenGL 1.3.1072
RADEON 9200 Series DDR x86/MMX/3DNow!/SSE: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL driver version is not 1.2 or better.
I'm i little puzzled: First it says the version is 1.3.1072, and then it says that the version is not 1.2 or better.
Isn't 1.3.1072 better that 1.2? :?
What are the consequences of this?
Yes, 1.3.1072 is better than 1.2
Irrlicht is USING 1.3.1072.
It is then complaining because your hardware doesn't support 1.2.
The consequence is you lose nice pretty graphics things and/or calculate stuff that should be done by your GPU with your CPU instead.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

No, I changed teh version number storing in 1.3.1. There is no use of this version number, yet, except for issuing this warning. So there won't be any problem, but I'll check what's the problem.
Hmm, it's my fault :oops: I took the fraction without multiplying, which became 0 when casting to an int. However, rounding errors prevent to use casting anyway, so I'll do somethin else.
JonLT
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by JonLT »

The consequence is you lose nice pretty graphics things and/or calculate stuff that should be done by your GPU with your CPU instead.
Yes you'r right! With OpenGL I have no shaders, but I do with Direct. Thanks! :)
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

No, shaders are not affected by the Version number, yet. The only thing that might not have worked due to this is texture coord clamping modes. I added a test there to avoid wrong OpenGL states. But it's fixed in SVN now and will work in the next version. BTW: If you have OpenGL 2 even those clamp modes will work :wink:
JonLT
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:47 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by JonLT »

ah ok! But i don't think my card supports OpenGL 2, I just downloaded the lastes driver from ATI (this IS where I would update my OpenGL driver right? ) and it was 1.2.2314.20337.

Thank you very much for your time and effort!! :)
Post Reply