Help With Displaying Images

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
xteraco
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:42 pm

Help With Displaying Images

Post by xteraco »

I got some code I've done up. It seems like it should work, but I'm getting runtime error. The error being, no image is displayed.

Here is the code.

Code: Select all

#include <irrlicht.h>
#include <iostream.h>

using namespace irr;
using namespace video;
using namespace scene;
using namespace core;
using namespace gui;


int main(int argc, char * argv[]){
    ISceneNode * xNode = 0;
    IrrlichtDevice * xDevice = createDevice(EDT_OPENGL, dimension2d<s32>(640,480),32,false);
    IVideoDriver * xDriver = xDevice->getVideoDriver();
    ISceneManager * xSmgr = xDevice->getSceneManager();

    xNode = xSmgr->addCubeSceneNode();
    xNode->setPosition(core::vector3df(0,0,30));
    xNode->setMaterialTexture(0, xDriver->getTexture("loading.jpg"));

    while(xDevice->run()){
        xDriver->beginScene(true,true,SColor(0,0,0,0));
        xSmgr->drawAll();
        xDriver->endScene();
    }
    xDevice->drop();
    return 0;
}
raven_coda
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Contact:

Post by raven_coda »

You gotta have a camera to veiw it all from;

try adding this

Code: Select all

scene::ICameraSceneNode* cam=xSmgr()->addCameraSceneNodeFPS();

before your while loop
Definition of an Upgrade: Take old bugs out, put new ones in.
xteraco
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:42 pm

Post by xteraco »

Ah, wow, cant believe I missed that... Gotta shed some light on the situation to..

Code: Select all

xNode->setMaterialFlag(EMF_LIGHTING,false);
xteraco
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:42 pm

Post by xteraco »

What if I wanted to take this code, and display the image as a 2d image? How would I need to adjust it... I've tried a few things, and not been able to achieve success. The way I'm trying to do this is, modify the code I have in this post, if that helps any.
xteraco
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Sep 15, 2006 11:42 pm

Post by xteraco »

Got this one figured out.. Thanks. :)
Post Reply