textures - only 256 by me

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
etcaptor
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Valhalla
Contact:

textures - only 256 by me

Post by etcaptor »

I don't know why but I get a always ugly texture quality.
- in TechDemo - skybox is 256 collored. My other textures are also with bad quality.

I have tryed
device = createDevice(video::EDT_OPENGL, core::dimension2d<s32>(800, 600),
32, false, false, &receiver);
device = createDevice(video::EDT_DIREXTX8, core::dimension2d<s32>(800, 600),
32, false, false, &receiver);
driver->setTextureCreationFlag(irr::video::ETCF_OPTIMIZED_FOR_QUALITY, true);
, BUT CANNOT IMPROVE IT.

Some advices?

Here is any examples



ATI Rage furi 128 pro, 32 MB chipset video.


original texture
Image
irrlicht vision of texture

Image
part of sky scene
Image
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

I am also getting problems with texture quality, in DirextX texture depth looks fine but texture is 'degenerated' ...it lacks detail of original.
Under OpenGL detail is all right but texture depth seems to be lower than original...
I may try to post some screenshots too...
etcaptor
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Valhalla
Contact:

Post by etcaptor »

Arras,
this is a big problem for me.
I have this problem only with irrlicht.
Do you things, that this is a bug?
And can we hope that that will improved in next version?
Jedive
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 5:51 pm

Post by Jedive »

device->getVideoDriver()->setTextureCreationFlag(ETCF_OPTIMIZED_FOR_QUALITY);
etcaptor
Posts: 871
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2004 10:32 pm
Location: Valhalla
Contact:

Post by etcaptor »

Is not any difference in view with this line:

Code: Select all

driver->setTextureCreationFlag(irr::video::ETCF_OPTIMIZED_FOR_QUALITY, true); 
Jedive
Posts: 146
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2004 5:51 pm

Post by Jedive »

hmm... there's a HUGE difference for me.
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

I think that it isn't bug, its probably just Irrlicht which is too young and needs still some development and tuning to becam ready product. Don't forgrt that untill now its more or les one man project. If you look at it like this its awesome...

I was working with few other engines and there were no problems with texture quality.
Domarius
Posts: 178
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 9:51 am
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia

Post by Domarius »

Actually, if you look at that thread in the "General Discussion" forum, "PACO JONES", here,
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... php?t=2238
they say that there is a bug with the way Irrilcht displays textures, and it diplays them at a lower texture quality.
Changed the texture loading code, because the current code is buggy and displays textures with bad quality. We just overrided the texture loading routines with calls to DirectX. That forced us to allow only DX9 to run the game.
arras
Posts: 1622
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 8:35 am
Location: Slovakia
Contact:

Post by arras »

Yes I noticed that post. May be this should be one of the things to be implemented in next versions of Irrlicht ...would be nice to have it working right since its quit serious fault.
Post Reply