Importing google sketchup models with those lines?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
BMF
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:10 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Importing google sketchup models with those lines?

Post by BMF »

When importing sketchup models into irrlicht, the lines I had on the edges (and other places, really) disappear. Is there any way to export the models with those lines?

Where in the process are the lines lost? In exporting? Or is it that Irrlicht doesn't support them?

Btw, I'm using the .OBJ file format.

Thanks.
deesine
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri May 12, 2006 9:19 am

Post by deesine »

Could you further explain what you mean by lines? I'm guessing the wireframes? You'll have to turn on wireframe display in irrlicht.

//Edit
Try with:

Code: Select all

yourNode->setDebugDataVisible(scene::EDS_MESH_WIRE_OVERLAY);
Core Xii
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: Finland

Post by Core Xii »

When exporting, hit the "Options..." button and check "Export edges", that might work.
BMF
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:10 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by BMF »

Core Xii wrote:When exporting, hit the "Options..." button and check "Export edges", that might work.
We've already tried that, and it didn't work.

I've been told that the problem is that Irrlicht only stores information for triangles when loading a model, so any "lines" on the modelling program are lost. I believe it shouldn't be much of a problem if properly textured, though. We'll see.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

No, Irrlicht does not load lines from file formats. But I did not know that .obj containes lines :o We'll have to think about a proper integration of special geometric shapes into the Irrlicht render pipeline. Currently you can only do this by adding a custom scene node with custom loading routines...
BlindSide
Admin
Posts: 2821
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 9:09 am
Location: NZ!

Post by BlindSide »

Deesines' method should work, but I really think the lines should be part of the texture, they are only in the editor to help you model and should not be exported. If you are relying on them to make the model look good then you are a little confused I think. Good luck
ShadowMapping for Irrlicht!: Get it here
Need help? Come on the IRC!: #irrlicht on irc://irc.freenode.net
BMF
Posts: 62
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 11:10 am
Location: Spain
Contact:

Post by BMF »

BlindSide wrote:Deesines' method should work, but I really think the lines should be part of the texture, they are only in the editor to help you model and should not be exported. If you are relying on them to make the model look good then you are a little confused I think. Good luck
Oh, no. Deesine's method should work if I wanted the wireframe to be show. And that is not it. Anyways, textures will do, as previously said.
Post Reply