Performance Problem

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

kimgar wrote:what? :shock: the mesh is fine at your side!?
oh no, i really did not want to hear that :(
Don't panic! Hybrid meant that the latest code in svn loads your mesh :)
You can either wait a while for the next release, or check out the 1.4a code from svn. Keep in mind that more people testing and submitting bug reports now means less bugs in the official release.
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

But I thought that I did not change the 3ds code lately. Hmm, I will have to test the old versions, too. Will try that in the next days.
mark01
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:27 am

Post by mark01 »

so I tested it and its true, I really got to much mesh buffers. After counting I have 1235 meshbuffers, about 1778000 vertices and 1785000 indices :shock:

ive exported the whole scene with my3d exporter after doing the material settings in 3ds max. the whole scene was merged from different max files materials included.

So why could this be? seems like there are more materials exported than there actually are or could there be some other reasons
kimgar
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: norway

Post by kimgar »

aah, bitplane, another fine start on the day!
good to know that my setup is probably ok. i actually hope that the mesh fails in v1.3.1 :)
i would love to contribute with svn testing, but unfortunately i'm on wrapped blitzmax and my C+ skills are, well, non existent...

@mark, are you using any multi/sub materials? in my case, all meshes are using the same multi/sub mat, which again consist of 10 materials. so two meshes generates 20 meshbuffers, even with only 1 material id present.
at the moment i've got:

meshbuffers : 250
vertexes : 930 670
indices : 2 345 205

this loads in 78 294 ms (really looking forward to the next release regarding this), with a framerate of 20, which is to be expected i guess. i'll see if i can reduce meshbuffers to check impact on framerates.

hmm, has anyone succeeded in loading X without materials exported? i always get zero vertex, indice and meshbuffers if materials are not exported together with mesh...
Last edited by kimgar on Wed Sep 12, 2007 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

No, also 1.3.1 is working. Not as good as the latest SVN revision (some parts are missing in the model), but no such heavy corruption noticable. Maybe you should try the MeshViewer provided in the SDK examples to check it on your own. If you want a binary of the (almost, some .x bug fixes missing) latest SVN revision you should check the new animation system thread in OpenDiscussion. I have some links for meshviewer binaries there.
kimgar
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: norway

Post by kimgar »

i tried the 1.3.1 meshviewer and i get the same amount of corruption as before, but the svn meshviewer imports the mesh perfectly! when did you say 1.4 will be out? ;)
kimgar
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 2:53 pm
Location: norway

Post by kimgar »

did some more tests on my mesh, and to my surprise the mesh with single material ID's and a single material actually gave worse fps and loadtimes compared multi mats and many mat ID's...
mark01
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:27 am

Post by mark01 »

I don't use multi/sub materials, because I had problems with this and the my3d exporter. Im actually detaching the polys with different materials cause I had about 3-5 materials per object and not so much objects yet.
Although I have much more meshbuffers than you. Somebody have a conclusion?
mark01
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:27 am

Post by mark01 »

Separate the mesh into several scene nodes. That would reduce the number automatically via frustum culling etc. Maybe the octree does not cope well with this number of polys.
I really have to solve this. What do you mean by seperating the mesh into several scene nodes. How could this be done?
Any other tips for getting a better framerate and reducing the meshbuffers? My Framerate now is between 1-7 fps average
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

You have to use an external modeller to put them into different files. Or you ensure to have different segments in separate mesh buffers (by assigning special materials) and copy those into new MeshSceneNodes.
mark01
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:27 am

Post by mark01 »

what kind of modeller you mean exactly?
Does nobody has an idea why there acurre to be somany meshbuffers?
Is this only about Texturing or could it be something else?
otherwise it would also be great to get some description about mesh buffers cause Im not exactly understanding what they are for and therefore solve the problems
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

I mean 3d modellers such as blender, 3D Max, etc.
Mesh buffers are parts of a mesh which have exactly the same material properties. Each time you make a different material you will for sure get another mesh buffer. But sometimes mesh buffers are also created for parts with the same material. E.g. when defining sub-parts of animated meshes - it's usually easier to animate separate mesh buffers instead of only parts of an index set.
Post Reply