(C++) Irr scene not loading <SOLVED>

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
waldo
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:08 pm
Location: Amsterdam

(C++) Irr scene not loading <SOLVED>

Post by waldo »

Just trying to get a .irr loaded in a modified terraindemo (demo #12). I use this line to get it loaded:

Code: Select all

smgr->loadScene("./media/meshes/FpsRoom01_Irr.irr");
It then gives me this bug when I execute the compilation:

Image

So, what could be wrong? The location of the .irr file is correct and it's there together with the .dae and the lightmaps folder. The full path to the .irr is F:\irrlicht-1.3.1\examples\12.TerrainRendering\media\meshes\[/img]

[edit, forgot to tell I created the .irr from a .3ds (that does load correctly) with IrrEdit 0.7.1]
Last edited by waldo on Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:48 am, edited 1 time in total.
If I stop living, does the world stop turning? Everyone will know, except me...

I love signatures, it's like space reserved for bullshi :)
waldo
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:08 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by waldo »

I exported the standard irrEdit testCube and placed the texture in the same folder as the .irr file. The irrlicht log gave me a "texture not found". So I opened the .irr with notepad and changed the texture path to just the filename. I would guess it would think like "Hey, no path, so the texture is in the current folder..." No luck, texture not found. Then I changed the path to the full path, so including the drive letter and everything and the texture showed up. Problem is, it doesn't seem to use paths like "..\texture" for a folder back or ".\" for the current folder. I need this to work. Everyone would right? If you install a game it should still be textured if you install it to another folder than c:\programfiles\ea\battlefield2.5alwaysbeta (for example :lol:)

[edit] Just fount this thread:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... xture+path
So far it's the only thread I could find that points somewhere in the same direction. I found the relative path setting in irrEdit now, but it still doesn't solve the problem. The relative paths are exported correctly now by irrEdit, but are still ignored when I test the scene in Irrlicht.
If I stop living, does the world stop turning? Everyone will know, except me...

I love signatures, it's like space reserved for bullshi :)
waldo
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 9:08 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by waldo »

I seem to have it fixed. The relative path in IrrEdit must be set to the base folder of the project (where the .exe is compiled), not the folder of the .irr files (in my case: .\media\meshes\).

However, there's a new bug now, but it's more something to post on irrEdit's forum. At least if it's still there after restarting my comp. After setting the Options->WorkingDirectory in IrrEdit, it now gives this message behind the splashscreen each time I start the program:

Image
If I stop living, does the world stop turning? Everyone will know, except me...

I love signatures, it's like space reserved for bullshi :)
Post Reply