Compile in XCode. ITriangleRenderer2.cpp is where?

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
syndicatedragon
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:36 pm

Post by syndicatedragon »

Here's the project file I've been using:

http://shodanproductions.com/misc/irrli ... deproj.tgz

Any ideas on the Quake3Map issue? Is this how it looks on other platforms?

If I have time this weekend I'll try some of the other examples and see how they go.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

EDIT: Sorry, wrong post referenced!
The stairs are properly textured on x86 systems. I did check big endian systems once, but I don't know about the current versions. However, the shader stuff is not enabled in example 3 so it would be due to basic render stuff, not the recent additions to quake maps.
Anyway, try all examples and check which problems arise.
Last edited by hybrid on Sun Feb 25, 2007 8:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
syndicatedragon
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:36 pm

Post by syndicatedragon »

The file is not used anymore, just remove it from your project.
I'm not sure which file you are referring to. Could you be more specific? I'll try the other examples when I have time (hopefully this week).
syndicatedragon
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:36 pm

Post by syndicatedragon »

btw I'm running this on a MacBook Pro (Intel Core Duo), so it is x86/little endian. I'll try to get to the other examples this week.

(edit) I'll try it on my Mac Mini too, it's a G4.
syndicatedragon
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Feb 13, 2007 5:36 pm

Post by syndicatedragon »

CustomSceneNode seems to work (displays a multicolored spinning triangle).
Collision has some troubles. It seems the problems might be related to problems in Quake3Map?

Image
faruk555
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:31 am

Post by faruk555 »

Hello. I complied the latest SVN Irrlicht engine on OS X and am having exactly the same issues as described in this post. I am using a MacBookPro Intel Duo. I focused on the Q3 map example where stairs not displaying all the time, stairs appear/disappear depending on the camera view . I successfully loaded a different q3 map, q3dm1 from pak0.pak for Q3 game, and have seen the same issue, parts of a column around an entryway appear/disappear as I move the camera around. I compiled Q3map example with suggestions from this post and the issue is still present with no change in behaviour. What I did:

if (mesh)
//node = smgr->addOctTreeSceneNode(mesh->getMesh(0), 0, -1, 128);
node = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(mesh);

node->setMaterialType(video::EMT_SOLID);


Any other suggestions on what I could try to debug this? Thanks!

I compiled Irrlicht library with the system jpeglib I installed using Fink which should not make a difference, I got the same results when compiled with jpeglib that came with Irrlicht source code.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

What about the other examples? Maybe example 4 or example 1 changed to OpenGL renderer.
faruk555
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:31 am

Post by faruk555 »

Example 4 "Movement" runs but it does not look right. Static box that is moved up and down is actually a sphere (not sure it is supposed to be that). also the woman moving is gray, texture file is read though.
Example 01 "Hello World" runs but the woman is not drawn, just some weird dark gray triangles. I'll post screenshots later this evening.

I am wondering if there is something the way library is compiled with Xcode. I'm gonna try and compile libIrrlicht.a using configure and make scritps and see if that helps.

Cheers,
Faruk
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Since I used Irrlicht on Linux PPC and on Sun/Solaris (which are both big endian) I know that the meshes and textures are loaded, but some problems remain. The most obvious is that Sydney has a weird texture mapping. However, the quake map and the .x meshes were correctly displayed. So there might be also some problems with the OSX renderer! I guess only OSX developers can help with this.
faruk555
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:31 am

Post by faruk555 »

Hi. I did some more debugging using the "OpenGL Profiler" application for OS X. Cool thing about this app is that you can select which graphics driver to use for rendering, software rendering plus about 20 other ATI & nVidia drivers. When I select "Native graphics driver" things do not behave nicely, that is I get the same behaviour as before. When I try any other driver things work great, everything is rendered as it should, and all the problems seen to disappear. Anyone know what is going on here?

Thanks
Faruk
faruk555
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:31 am

Post by faruk555 »

I was able to get some crash data using "OpenGL profiler" when i run "Hello World" example (it says Movement below, but it is the Hello World example, messed up the name in Xcode project). Not sure what all this means, sorry.

Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (0x0001)
Codes: KERN_PROTECTION_FAILURE (0x0002) at 0x00000000

Thread 0 Crashed:
0 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x90812125 CFRetain + 56
1 com.apple.CoreFoundation 0x90823531 CFDictionarySetValue + 323
2 com.apple.GLEngineProfiler 0x0071d92a gloGetCGLDispatch + 443915
3 libGL.dylib 0x92b25857 glProgramStringARB + 104
4 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x0012d841 0x1000 + 1230913
5 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x0012d9d7 0x1000 + 1231319
6 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x000fc75d 0x1000 + 1029981
7 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x0004681e 0x1000 + 284702
8 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x00046ebd 0x1000 + 286397
9 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x0004754f 0x1000 + 288079
10 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x000476d4 0x1000 + 288468
11 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x00003d1a 0x1000 + 11546
12 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x000057c7 0x1000 + 18375
13 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x0000589b 0x1000 + 18587
14 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x000035b4 0x1000 + 9652
15 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x0000326d 0x1000 + 8813
16 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x00002ba6 0x1000 + 7078
17 com.irrlicht.Movement 0x00002acd 0x1000 + 6861

Thread 1:
0 libSystem.B.dylib 0x90009bf7 mach_msg_trap + 7
1 com.apple.GLEngineProfiler 0x006a93b8 gloInitializeLibrary + 81238
2 libSystem.B.dylib 0x90024147 _pthread_body + 84

Thread 0 crashed with X86 Thread State (32-bit):
eax: 0x00000000 ebx: 0x908120fb ecx: 0x00000000 edx: 0x908120db
edi: 0x0055f130 esi: 0x00000000 ebp: 0xbfffeab8 esp: 0xbfffea90
ss: 0x0000001f efl: 0x00010246 eip: 0x90812125 cs: 0x00000017
ds: 0x0000001f es: 0x0000001f fs: 0x00000000 gs: 0x00000037

Thanks
faruk555
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:31 am

Post by faruk555 »

Sorry for posting so much but I would love to get this working. I think the issue lies somewhere within the zBuffer. [http://www.sjbaker.org/steve/omniv/love ... uffer.html] web page talks about how if zbuffer is not set correctly images will randomly show through each other which is what I am seeing in examples compiled. Hope this help, I am open to any suggestions/things to try.

Cheers,
Faruk [/url]
Bazzilic
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 6:44 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia

Post by Bazzilic »

I tried to compile Irrlicht 1.4beta in FreeBSD and get the same errors, as frox had - with _SC_PHYS_PAGES ans _SC_AVPHYS_PAGES.

My system info:

Code: Select all

OS: FreeBSD
CORE VERSION: 6.2 release
PROCESSOR: i386
I get the following error SOperator.o COSOperator.cpp

Code: Select all

COSOperator.cpp: In member function `virtual bool irr::COSOperator::getSystemMemory(irr::u32*, irr::u32*) const':
COSOperator.cpp:159: error: `_SC_PHYS_PAGES' was not declared in this scope
COSOperator.cpp:160: error: `_SC_AVPHYS_PAGES' was not declared in this scope
COSOperator.cpp:159: warning: unused variable '_SC_PHYS_PAGES'
COSOperator.cpp:160: warning: unused variable '_SC_AVPHYS_PAGES'messages:
Sincerely yours, Bazzilic
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Ok, I'll simply check for those symbols. Will be fixed in the release.
mmasters
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:11 pm

Post by mmasters »

Did this ever get fixed. I've looked at the latest release and I'm having the same problems under MacOSX.
Michael Masters
Post Reply