Loading a Quake3 map *SOLVED* Poll active.

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply

Have you followed this tutorial?

Yes, and my project worked without problems.
2
67%
Yes, but my project didn't work for me.
1
33%
No, I've not followed that tutorial.
0
No votes
I wrote that tutorial! ;)
0
No votes
 
Total votes: 3

thojoh370
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Contact:

Loading a Quake3 map *SOLVED* Poll active.

Post by thojoh370 »

Hi!
I followed the tutorial about loading a Quake 3 map into Irrlicht (using C++, if that makes any sense). It took me some time to find out what a BSP file was and how to get that out of a pk3 but I found it inside the pk3 in the folder called "map". So, I told my little application to load from that bsp file.

When running the application it tells me that the BSP mesh was successfully loaded, but in the output window (where I should see the map) there is nothing. Just a grey background, that's all.

Did I do anything wrong?:
1. I created a new project.
2. I added all directories and linkings into Code::Blocks.
3. I copied all the necessary files to the application directory.
4. I copied the code from the tutorial page into main.cpp.
5. I built it without errors, and when I chose to Run it after Building it .. well, I've already told you.

I have tried these tutorials with complete success, no problems at all:
http://www.gameiterator.com/index.php/G ... mputerGame
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/tut012.html

Is there a texture somewhere that I must bind to the mesh? Or what is there still to do? I don't think the tutorial tells me anything more than how to load the Quake 3 map mesh ... or does it ? If you do find anything useful in the tutorial that I have missed, please QUOTE. Don't link me back to the tutorial page. (I've seen too many RTFM's in my life ...)

Also do note that I am good at programming; I'm just new to C++. (I usually work in VisualBasic or ActionScript.) Many people seem to disregard that when they tell me how to do things...
Last edited by thojoh370 on Sun Nov 04, 2007 10:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Programmers don't DIE, they just GOSUB and then RETURN.
overburn
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 8:08 am
Location: Romania, Ploiesti

Post by overburn »

truly weird.
have you tried comparing your code with the demo source code that came with the sdk?
that usually solves many problems with tuts here :D
One Tequila, Two Tequila, Three Tequila, Floor.
_______________________________________
ASUS P5V-VM Ultra
Intel Pentium D930
1x 2GB DDR2 Kingmax 800mhz/533mhz mb
Leadtek PX9600GT W 512MB DDR3
200GB Maxtor HDD
thojoh370
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Contact:

Oops

Post by thojoh370 »

Hey all,
it seems I forgot to insert this line into my code:

Code: Select all

device->getFileSystem()->addZipFileArchive("../../media/map-20kdm2.pk3");
Quite important one, isn't it? (Loads all the textures and stuff...) :roll:
I need the answer to another question though: How to change my Irrlicht-based code so that it runs in fullscreen? (C++)
Programmers don't DIE, they just GOSUB and then RETURN.
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

fullscreen is handled by a boolean parameter to the createDevice() function. All in the tutorials ;)
Image Image Image
Post Reply