Not working windowed mode

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
VeneX
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Not working windowed mode

Post by VeneX »

I have worked for a while on my application and I noticed the shadow's don't work. I tested the Special FX tutorial, in windowed mode the shadows work, in Fullscreen the shadow dosn't work. I thought I'm gonna test my app in windowed mode but when I change the true to false of the fullscreenmode the executable doesn't run :( Does anybody know what's wrong? Code is here: http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... php?t=2393 (not the most recent code)
Visit my website @ www.venex.be
Plethora project will be added to the site
AMD AthlonXP 2600+, 512MB DDR, Radeon M10 (mobile 9600) PRO 64MB, WinXP
Tyn
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 7:53 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Tyn »

Yeah, it's a known problem, a lot of people ( myself included ) can't get it to work in full screen mode. I guess it's something Niko will fix in the next release. It also screws up the shadows for objects butted up against each other.
VeneX
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by VeneX »

And the not working windowed mode?

Maybe the fault is in here, but I am not a programmer...

Code: Select all

	int lastFPS = -1;

	while(device->run())
	{
			driver->beginScene(true, true, 0);

			smgr->drawAll();
			env->drawAll();

			driver->endScene();

			int fps = driver->getFPS();

			if (lastFPS != fps)
			{
				wchar_t tmp[1024];
				swprintf(tmp, 1024, L"Imperial Guard");
				device->setWindowCaption(tmp);

				wchar_t dfps[1024];
				wchar_t poly[1024];
				swprintf(dfps, 1024, L"FPS: %d", fps);
				swprintf(poly, 1024, L"Poly's: %d", driver->getPrimitiveCountDrawn());
				fpstext->setText(dfps);
				polytext->setText(poly);

				lastFPS = fps;
			}
	}

	device->drop();
	
	return 0;
Visit my website @ www.venex.be
Plethora project will be added to the site
AMD AthlonXP 2600+, 512MB DDR, Radeon M10 (mobile 9600) PRO 64MB, WinXP
Tyn
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 7:53 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Tyn »

No, no, you set the windowed/full screen option when you create the device:

device = createDevice(video::EDT_DIRECTX9, core::dimension2d<s32>(1280, 1024), 32, true, true, this);
VeneX
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by VeneX »

Yes I know that!,
But the exe fails to start, it gives an error, so I thought the fault in the code was in there...
Visit my website @ www.venex.be
Plethora project will be added to the site
AMD AthlonXP 2600+, 512MB DDR, Radeon M10 (mobile 9600) PRO 64MB, WinXP
VeneX
Posts: 228
Joined: Sun Nov 30, 2003 3:32 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by VeneX »

Currently:
fullscreen: not working shadows....
windowed: I have to disable the particle effect or else he will crash....

Maybe the shadows will work in fullscreen but he says: Gforce 2 doesn't enable stencil buffers, stencil buffer disabled. But why is it working in windowed mode?
Visit my website @ www.venex.be
Plethora project will be added to the site
AMD AthlonXP 2600+, 512MB DDR, Radeon M10 (mobile 9600) PRO 64MB, WinXP
Post Reply