I got tumle setup, but now my app crashes

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

I got tumle setup, but now my app crashes

Post by 3DModelerMan »

Hi I have a prob with tumle, when I try to add a physics node my program crashes, I add it like this,

Code: Select all

//add wolf physics node
IPhysicsNode* main_wolf_physics = pmgr->addControllablePhysicsNode(main_render_wolf, EBT_SPHERE, 10, vector3df(10,10,10));
could someone please help out?.
Thanks :D .
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

ummm

Post by 3DModelerMan »

Sorry for the double post but I need help, it's for a project.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

If you are at all serious about developing software, you will have to understand what a stack trace is, how to obtain one from your chosen debugger when your program crashes, how to read and understand it, and (after you have done some work to try and fix your problem) why it is to your benefit to post it when asking for help.

The sooner you do this, the sooner you will start benefiting from it.

You could have learned this in the time you spent waiting for someone to play yet another game of 20 Questions.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

ummm

Post by 3DModelerMan »

I already checked that, and I tried to solve my problem, but it did,nt work. I did exactly what the small example in the documentation said.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
SwitchCase
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:41 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by SwitchCase »

It's time for a game of 20 question I think. The first three are:

By crashes do you mean you get a runtime error?

If so then what's the error message your getting from your OS?

Can you give more info on why you can't show us a stack trace from the debugger? - I do hope you realise that the Wikipedia article doesn't give you a working example.

Actually there's another three questions:

What compiler are you using?

What debugger?

What IDE (if any)?

That's six.
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

code::blocks

Post by 3DModelerMan »

I get the windows XP error report when it gets to that line, for your other questions,

IDE: code::blocks

Compiler: GNU GCC compiler

and I don't know about the debuger.
I'll post the stack trace later, when I have time.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
SwitchCase
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:41 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by SwitchCase »

I guessing it's the "some.exe has encountered a problem..." message you mean.

This usually means you've got some memory allocation problem.

Your debugger will probably be MinGW's GDB.

Hit F8 in CodeBlocks to start debugger, you'll get an message box with an error message, what does this say?... Click OK and check the call stack (it should pop up, click 'Debug->Debugging Windows->Call Stack' if not in the menu). You could also check 'Debug->Information->Current stack frame'. What info do you get from this?
Last edited by SwitchCase on Sat Sep 27, 2008 7:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Re: code::blocks

Post by rogerborg »

3DModelerMan wrote:and I don't know about the debuger.
I know you don't. If you did, you'd have fixed your problem by now.

Your time would be much better spent on learning how to use a debugger, any debugger, than in asking for help over and over and over again.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
zeno60
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 2:48 am
Location: NC, USA
Contact:

Post by zeno60 »

Image
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

ummm

Post by 3DModelerMan »

I think I'll quit with tumle, it continually crashes no matter what I do, I'll use a different wrapper.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
SwitchCase
Posts: 170
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 11:41 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Post by SwitchCase »

Why don't you just learn how to use a debugger?

A C++ book wouldn't do you any harm either (or http://www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/.)

In the end, it'll be a lot easier than jumping in at the deep end, realising you can't swim and then trying the deep end of another pool just in case you have a little more luck. Your wasting a lot of time, both your own and ours.
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Re: ummm

Post by rogerborg »

3DModelerMan wrote:I think I'll quit with tumle, it continually crashes because of what I do
There, fixed that for you. Since you don't know what you're doing wrong, you're likely to do the same wrong things with the next wrapper that you try, and you still won't know how to find where the errors are.

Please, please, please understand that we are trying to help you with this advice: if you are at all serious about completing any non-trivial project, then you must learn to use a debugger sooner or later.

The sooner you learn, the sooner you will start benefiting from the knowledge. And you will take those skills with you to every project that you work on in the future. It's the biggest Return On Investment that you will ever make.

Code::Blocks has a very basic tutorial that introduces debugging. Google provides many examples on GDB itself.

Alternatively, since you are targeting Windows initially, I would recommend switching to using Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 Express, simply because it has a great integrated visual debugger, with some very powerful features.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

oh

Post by 3DModelerMan »

I'll read that tutorial next time I have a problem and I'll use it to solve this one to. I think I'll just switch my compiler with code::blocks, cause I have tried using MSVC before and I hated it, but maybe I'll use it's compiler.
Thanks :D
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
Post Reply