What did i do wrong??

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Kojima Pro
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 11:29 pm

What did i do wrong??

Post by Kojima Pro »

Can somebody tell me what i did wrong? I was doing a tutorial on "Hello World" and i did all the scripting in Visual Studio c++ 2008 and this was what i typed up:

#include <irrlicht.h>
#ifdef _IRR_WINDOWS_
#pragma comment(lib, "irrlicht.lib")
#pragma comment(linker, "/subsystem:windows /ENTRY:mainCRTStartup")
#endif
int main()
{
IrrlichtDevice *device =
#ifdef _IRR_OSX_PLATFORM_
CreateDevice( video::EDT_OPENGL, dimention2d<s32>(640, 480), 16,
false, false, false 0);
#else
CreateDevice( video::EDT_SOFTWARE, dimention2d<s32>(640, 480) 16,
false, false, false, 0);
#endif
if (!device)
return 1;
device->setWindowCaption(L"Hello World! - Irrlicht Engine Demo");
IVideoDriver* driver = device->getVideoDriver();
ISceneManager* smgr = device->getSceneManager();
IGUIEnviroment* guienv = device->getGUIEnviroment();
guienv->addStaticText(L"Hello World! This is the Irrlicht Software renderer!",
rect<s32>(10,10,260,22, true);
IAnimateMesh* mesh = smgr->getmesh("../../mediasydney.md2");
if (!mesh)
return 1;
IAnimatedMeshSceneNode* node = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode( mesh );
if (node)
{
node->setMaterialFlag(EMF_lighting, false);
node->setMD2Animation(scene::EMAT_STAND);
node->setMaterialTexture( 0, driver->getTexture("../..media/sydney.bmp") );
}
smgr->addCameraSceneNode(0, vector3df(0, 30,-40), vector3df(0,5,0));
while(device->run())
{
driver->beginScene(true, true SColor(255,100,101,140));

smgr->drawAll();
guienv->drawAll();

driver->endscene();
}
device->drop();

return 0;
}



Here is a picture:Image


I just don't know what i did wrong, i press the debug button and then it says there was build errors, would you like to continue and run the last succesful build? Please help me.
Luke
Admin
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:55 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Luke »

you have to tell us what the errors were for us to help you.

you may not have included irrlicht into your Visual Studio project.
[url=irc://irc.freenode.net/irrlicht]irrlicht irc[/url] - corrodinggames.com
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

It's not scripting, it's coding :P

And don't use the Software driver if you're developing on a PC, use OpenGL or DX (though only DX under windows).

And yes, post your errors, we can't read your mind and the picture you posted doesn't have a functioning scroll bar so we can't read the build errors ourselves :P
Image Image Image
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

All Irrlicht methods and definitions are inside namespaces.

You need to either:

Add "using namespace foo;" declarations for all Irrlicht namespaces that you want to use, as is done in example 01.HelloWorld/main.cpp

or

qualify every use of Irrlicht types with the correct namespace(s), e.g.

irr::IrrlichtDevice

irr::core::vector3df.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Kojima Pro
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 11:29 pm

Post by Kojima Pro »

Dude...i did post my error you must read instead of assuming. Scripting, codeing, same thing pretty much.


Please answer my question please instead of trying to correct every little thing.
Halifax
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:40 pm
Location: $9D95

Post by Halifax »

Kojima Pro wrote:Dude...i did post my error you must read instead of assuming. Scripting, codeing, same thing pretty much.


Please answer my question please instead of trying to correct every little thing.
I just read your post 2 times over, and all I found is the code, a picture, and an explanation that says you have "build errors."

JP was just jokingly telling you, that scripting doesn't equal coding, for future reference. You don't want to appear unintelligible when speaking to intelligible developers.

And we could actually answer your question if we knew the exact build errors that you have. As JP said, we can't use a scrollbar in a picture to read the actual build errors that you received.

Don't be so critical of others, unless you know that you have done everything in your power to provide enough information. Your just burning bridges, with valueable users, that you haven't even built yet!
TheQuestion = 2B || !2B
zeno60
Posts: 342
Joined: Sun May 21, 2006 2:48 am
Location: NC, USA
Contact:

Post by zeno60 »

Perhaps you should visit your first thread and follow the advice others have given, we are not all just evil hoarders that want Irrlicht to ourselves. Some of that stuff might actually help out.

http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... ht=#172756
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

Kojima Pro wrote:Dude...i did post my error
You did not.
Kojima Pro wrote:you must read instead of assuming.
We are under no obligation to do anything. You are the one asking for help.

Kojima Pro wrote:Scripting, codeing, same thing pretty much.
I don't think you're in a position to be making that kind of pronouncement.

Kojima Pro wrote:Please answer my question please instead of trying to correct every little thing.
Debugging is correcting every little thing.

JP's advice was sound. You'd be wise to take it, if you are actually interested in learning.

Speaking of which, I identified your problem and posted a solution above. Are you clear on that, or do you need anything clarified about namespaces?
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
jontan6
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:29 pm

Re: What did i do wrong??

Post by jontan6 »

Kojima Pro wrote:Can somebody tell me what i did wrong? I was doing a tutorial on "Hello World" and i did all the scripting in Visual Studio c++ 2008 and this was what i typed up:

maybe dont type it. just open the example project in visual studio and run it. your error could be caused by anything. you may have errors in the setup of your project, and errors in your code. so just stick to the example projects first as they will run ok.
jontan6
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:29 pm

Post by jontan6 »

Kojima Pro wrote:Dude...i did post my error you must read instead of assuming.
i second rogerborg. i read all your message 10 times. you did not post any error
Kojima Pro
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 11:29 pm

Post by Kojima Pro »

So your saying that people that do not know that people are jokeing mean's that they are not intelligent? lol right...speak for yourself moron. And this is exactly what i was talking about...correcting...what is with you people...i DID specify my error it's in the first sentence i wrote:
"it says there was build errors, would you like to continue and run the last succesful build?"

How could you guy's miss this???



That's the only error i have it will not let me do anything. So if anyone could help me out with out correcting and being stupid and childish feel free to, i would appreaciate it greatly.

Thank you.
Kojima Pro
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2008 11:29 pm

Post by Kojima Pro »

You know what nevermind...i figured it out, if you guy's would have spent your time actually helping instead of complaining and correcting then you would have answered. I am deleteing my name and going to a different board.

Thank you for those that actually tried to help with out being an smartypants.

Next time READ what people wrote, it's like some people just look for errors instead of there problem.
Luke
Admin
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:55 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Luke »

"it says there was build errors, would you like to continue and run the last succesful build?"
I saw this, it's just there are hundreds of different types of build errors, with messages that go with them. we need to know what it was, just knowing that there was one doesn't help anyone. your ide would have told you what it was, if you scrolled up.
[url=irc://irc.freenode.net/irrlicht]irrlicht irc[/url] - corrodinggames.com
Ion Dune
Posts: 453
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:29 pm
Location: California, USA
Contact:

Post by Ion Dune »

Kojima's a troll. There is no way anyone is that dumb and simultaneously that much of an ass.

On the off chance that you aren't a troll, Kojima, you need to reconsider the way you treat people who are trying to help you. If you honestly can't make left and right of what you've been told, you either need to invest more time into learning it, or perhaps moving to another board is a better option for you. When you have no idea what you're meddling in, and people who try to help you say stuff you don't understand, its more than likely that they know something you don't, not the other way around. You need to invest some time in using the resources people have posted for you here. The information you need is readily available, you just have to invest the time in finding it.
dlangdev
Posts: 1324
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:28 pm
Location: Beaverton OR
Contact:

Post by dlangdev »

This is a side-show, folks.

Good job, kojima-pro. You wasted a lot of these people's time.

Congratultions, hope you're savoring the moment.
Image
Post Reply