problem switching to Irrlicht 1.4.2

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

problem switching to Irrlicht 1.4.2

Post by Masterhawk »

hi there,

today I spent my time in porting my Irrlicht1.1 project to version 1.4.2. Let's say, finally it's compiling....BUT...

I got several issues which came up with the new version.

1. Cruel texture problems

Image
Image

As you can see in these two images there is a major texture problem. Some textures are corrupted from far away, if you get nearer they show up correctly.
Other textures aren't shown anyway. And the last group of textures is completely displayed in the right way (like the stones under the water).
The maps are MY3D-files packed in a zip-file which worked correctly with 1.1

2. Keys strokes

The event receiver behave strange, too. When I hit the 'ESC'-key to show up the ingame-menu it's not sure if it'll show up. My other keys (e.g. 'Q' or 'Y') doesn't work at all. The same with the mouse buttons.
I don't have a clue what I did wrong.


The major problem is the texture issue, so if anyone knows a fix please help me ;)
Image
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

For the event receiver i'm guessing you updated the OnEvent parameter to a const reference yeah? Though i suppose it wouldn't have compiled without that...
Image Image Image
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

sure i have :wink:

Code: Select all

virtual bool OnEvent(const SEvent& event)
{ ... }
Image
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

I got that problem

Post by 3DModelerMan »

I had the texture problem to, I fixed it by making my textures smaller, Are any of yours 2048 X 2048?, if so try 1024 X 1024.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

no the textures are definitely smaller than 2048 (around 512x512). Did you have the problem with MY3D?
Why does also the renderToTexture produce such weird results? On the water it works like a charm but on the portals it's totally messed up.
Image
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

nope

Post by 3DModelerMan »

I used .obj model files.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Hmm, strnage. I still have some models from you for testing in my repository, and had no problems the last time I checked them all. Will have to test them once my Linux machine is working again :? Do you create a custom scene node?
The RTT fix hasn't been applied to the 1.4 branch, which will make the RTTs not work without setting the texture wrap to no wrapping. At least that might help...
The event receiver problem is not clear, maybe some GUI elements are blocking the event reception.
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

hybrid wrote:Hmm, strnage. I still have some models from you for testing in my repository, and had no problems the last time I checked them all. Will have to test them once my Linux machine is working again :?
Since I changed to 1.4.2 the "multiple texture loadings" didn't occur anymore. The current problem appear on all of my current maps. Perhaps I should create a simple app in order to reproduce the failure at a smaller amount of code.
hybrid wrote:Do you create a custom scene node?
No. I guess not ;)
hybrid wrote:The RTT fix hasn't been applied to the 1.4 branch, which will make the RTTs not work without setting the texture wrap to no wrapping. At least that might help...
What does this RTT fix is all about? Will have a look at it. But it seems that this is caused by the same issue the other texture corruption is caused.
hybrid wrote:The event receiver problem is not clear, maybe some GUI elements are blocking the event reception.
Even when it worked correctly with Irrlicht1.1 i guess this will not take too much time to fix it. But the texture thing is really driving me nuts
Image
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

I could reproduce the problem with a very rudimentary app. I run the app with current release of irrlicht (1.4.2)

Code: Select all

#include <irrlicht.h>

using namespace irr;
using namespace core;
using namespace std;
using namespace scene;


int main(int argc, char* argv[])
{
	IrrlichtDevice* device = createDevice(video::EDT_OPENGL,dimension2d<s32>(1024,768),32,false,false,false);
	device->setWindowCaption(L"IrrlichtTest [MY3D + Irrlicht 1.4.2]");

	video::IVideoDriver* driver = device->getVideoDriver();
	ISceneManager* smgr = device->getSceneManager();

	device->getFileSystem()->addZipFileArchive("my3dmap.zip");
	ISceneNode* world = smgr->addAnimatedMeshSceneNode(smgr->getMesh("techdemo.my3d"));
	ICameraSceneNode* cam = smgr->addCameraSceneNodeFPS();

	while(device->run())
	{
		driver->beginScene(true, true, video::SColor(0,200,200,200));
		smgr->drawAll();
		driver->endScene();
	}
	return 0;
}
zip file (do not extract for testing): http://www.masterhawk-studios.de/upload/my3dmap.zip
Image
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Ok, moving it to bug forum, but checking the files and code only tomorrow...
jontan6
Posts: 278
Joined: Fri Jun 13, 2008 5:29 pm

Post by jontan6 »

try set anisotrophic true on the problematic materials?
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Ok, good news and bad news :?
The texture loading works in SVN/trunk, however, textures are once again multiply loaded :cry:
I'll dig into both things - porting the my3d loader back into 1.4 (or do you want to wait for 1.5 to use the new loader?) and duplicated texture loading.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Ok, multiple texture loading is fixed, it's a problem with getAbsoluteFilename and the texture name handling in the texture cache. I'll check for the best possible solution to this problem and commit to SVN/trunk then.
Question remains if you want to have the my3d loader ported to 1.4, or if you want to change to 1.5 right away?!
Masterhawk
Posts: 299
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2006 6:52 pm
Location: GERMANY
Contact:

Post by Masterhawk »

That's good news
hybrid wrote:Question remains if you want to have the my3d loader ported to 1.4, or if you want to change to 1.5 right away?!
What does "change to 1.5" mean? Compiling the SVN version then? If that's the case I will try this at first because I guess this means a little less work for you, isn't it? Also I will be up-to-date then :wink:
Image
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

I'd hope that simply copying the my3d loader over from SVN should cure the problems, but one never knows. And yes, you'd get all the nice new features, including VBOs and joystick support :D
For now you'll have to use SVN/trunk or the nightly builds, until a beta candidate or the final release are published (sometimes this year...)
Post Reply