Will boundary box change?

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
charles88
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:02 am

Will boundary box change?

Post by charles88 »

Hi everyone,

Could you please tell me, when I move my animated node will the boundary box of the node change? If is it possible to update and draw it out? sorry for asking noob question. :oops:

Thank you.
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

check it out for yourself ;) :

Code: Select all

node->setDebugDataVisible(EDS_BBOX);
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
charles88
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:02 am

Post by charles88 »

Thanks Acki, I used that before but just want to confirm. :D so it does not change.
darkmaster83
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:41 am

Post by darkmaster83 »

charles88 wrote:Thanks Acki, I used that before but just want to confirm. :D so it does not change.
I have the same problem! What have I to do to solve it?
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

darkmaster83 wrote:What have I to do to solve it?
wait for a patch...
try another mesh format...
maybe it also depends on the driver you're using...

I use Irrlicht v1.4.2 with DX9 driver...
then I tested 3 mesh formats (.md2, .x and .3ds) and placed them at different positions:
Image
you see the bboxes are all at the right position !!!
but only the md2 mesh updates the bbox while animating... ;)
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
charles88
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:02 am

Post by charles88 »

Oh, I see, so there is problem with the engine then. :( anyway, thx very much for the help and info Acki. :P
darkmaster83
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:41 am

Post by darkmaster83 »

Acki wrote: try another mesh format...
OK! Thank you!
I'm using .ms3d file format, so I'd think to convert it to .md2, but I don't know if it is possible, because my mesh has more than 4096 triangles and more than 2048 vertices (I'm getting this error on converting it on MilkShape)... :?: Furthermore, I don't know if md2 files support bones and skeletal animation...
Any suggestions, please?
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

Post by Virion »

try another mesh format...
i always prefer 1 single 'irr'-model format that just work and its easier to support or add features to it.
darkmaster83
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:41 am

Post by darkmaster83 »

In my humble opinion, even if this feature would be very hard to implement, an engine that doesn't support bounding boxes resizing in its animation system is totally useless...
B@z
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by B@z »

i dont think it's totally useless.
for example for a human, you have to know where is the leg of it, and where is the head for collision.
even if he's moving his arms, his height wouldn't be lower...
for colliding with another meshes (swords, bullets) dont use bbox collision.

normally, for a simple gravitation, you dont have to use PRECISE bounding box, it isn't problem if the bbox is a little bigger than the model.

personally, i haven't have problem with that yet.
and others can work without that too. so don't call itt useless.
Image
Image
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

It's on the list of things to fix before cutting 1.5.

If anyone wants to investigate it and suggest a solution, that would be very much appreciated.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

I committed an attempted fix for this last night in SVN 1805, so test reports from the trunk would be very welcome.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
darkmaster83
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 7:41 am

Post by darkmaster83 »

rogerborg wrote:I committed an attempted fix for this last night in SVN 1805, so test reports from the trunk would be very welcome.
I tested SVN 1817 (I found that trunk...). I noticed that bones can't move (I used the same code as before, so I cannot test collisions and BBs resizing...), some anomalous positioning of meshes and a bit different colours rendering...that's all, according to me.

Any suggestions? Is there anything wrong about me?

Do you know roughly when 1.5 will be released?
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

darkmaster83 wrote:
rogerborg wrote:I committed an attempted fix for this last night in SVN 1805, so test reports from the trunk would be very welcome.
I tested SVN 1817 (I found that trunk...). I noticed that bones can't move (I used the same code as before, so I cannot test collisions and BBs resizing...), some anomalous positioning of meshes and a bit different colours rendering...that's all, according to me.
Can you elaborate a bit? By "bones can't move" do you mean that a mesh with build in animations isn't animating, or that you can't animate the bones in a skinned mesh node yourself?

Also, what sort of mesh, and can you make your mesh available? How about the source code?

Finally, can you let me know the last time that it did work for you?
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
rogerborg
Admin
Posts: 3590
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2006 9:36 am
Location: Scotland - gonnae no slag aff mah Engleesh
Contact:

Post by rogerborg »

1.5 will be released when it's tested and free of substantial bugs. You can help with that by making effective bug reports. Hint, hint.
Please upload candidate patches to the tracker.
Need help now? IRC to #irrlicht on irc.freenode.net
How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
Post Reply