Could not draw triangles...

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
Mad-Mazda
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:44 am

Could not draw triangles...

Post by Mad-Mazda »

Any ideas on whats causing this.
http://i34.tinypic.com/34pcqds.jpg
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
Posts: 1123
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm

Post by Lonesome Ducky »

I'm guessing the console is telling you the truth, there are too many triangles in the mesh. Irrlicht uses 16 bit mesh buffers so you can't go above that number in one mesh. Try splitting it to fix the problem.
Mad-Mazda
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 5:44 am

Post by Mad-Mazda »

Well its terrain thats doing it. So ill just split the hightmap.
Dark_Kilauea
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 1:43 am
Location: The Middle of Nowhere

Post by Dark_Kilauea »

I believe SVN (and thus Irrlicht 1.5) supports 32 bit meshbuffers for the terrain scene node, allowing you to keep it as one node.
rogerborg wrote:Every time someone learns to use a debugger, an angel gets their wings.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Yes, but if you can easily split into several mesh buffers (need not split into separate meshes, the limit is per meshbuffer) the performance is better with just one mesh and several buffers. The latter is not true anymore for huge dimensions, because frustum culling only happens on full meshes. Hence, most tiled terrains have several scene nodes. Just read in those forum threads about pros and cons.
Post Reply