If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
go
Posts: 28 Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:53 am
Post
by go » Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:56 pm
Hi, I want to control each child's material like under sourcecode
Code: Select all
scene::ISceneNode* haL = Node2->getXJointNode("child");
haL->setMaterialFlag(video::EMF_POINTCLOUD, true);
But it can't do well. so I ask is there any way to control each child's material and is it possible?
Thanks!![/code]
JP
Posts: 4526 Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:
Post
by JP » Thu Jan 15, 2009 3:51 pm
Well you're not getting the actual mesh, just a bone, which doesn't actually get rendered in any way so you're not actually affecting the mesh.
I don't think you can do what you want as the mesh is rendered once, all together so you'd need to load the mesh as individual models i think...
go
Posts: 28 Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:53 am
Post
by go » Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:21 am
OK, thanks.
I can control each material's setting before we load the mesh. but can't do it after rending it.
and I think there is some way to control, mayabe. hmm I'll tryi it thanks. if i can't do it. I'll load the mesh individual.
nathanf534
Posts: 199 Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 2:55 am
Post
by nathanf534 » Fri Jan 16, 2009 3:28 am
Well you're not getting the actual mesh, just a bone
so, does this mean, i could make a model in blender, attach some bones, then modify the model, using the bones, inside of irrlicht? such as moving the gun on a tank?
while(signatureEmpty){cout<<wittyComment();}
go
Posts: 28 Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2008 7:53 am
Post
by go » Fri Jan 16, 2009 6:39 am
Thanks for your reply.
I mean I want to change child's material like α value or make material pointcloud not to mean change bone's rotation or position,I've already done it.
Thanks
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143 Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:
Post
by hybrid » Fri Jan 16, 2009 8:04 am
nathanf534 wrote: Well you're not getting the actual mesh, just a bone
so, does this mean, i could make a model in blender, attach some bones, then modify the model, using the bones, inside of irrlicht? such as moving the gun on a tank?
Yes, that's what the bones are for. Read the Wiki documentation about the proper settings.