[fixed]OpenGl stencil not wide enough

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
zotlerg
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:28 pm

[fixed]OpenGl stencil not wide enough

Post by zotlerg »

Hello, I'm rendering a small scene into a 1024x400 window (using example 14) on the PC using Irrlicht 1.5.
While using stencil shadows, I noticed that the width of the shadow stops in a straight line, as if its border was set to 400x400.
If I render to 1024x128 then the stencil seems to stop at 128x128.
In DirectX everything is fine. This is just OpenGl on PC for me.
I've not tried this on the Mac, but I need it to work on the Apple for a project.

Thanks,
Dave
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

Looks like you're right, I didn't try in 1.5 but shadows are completely broken in OpenGL in SVN at the moment. Setting the window size like you said gives a shadow coloured overlay to the a 400x670 region in the middle of the screen (so far only tested in Windows)
So the stencil OpenGL stencil buffer is bugged in 1.5 and completely broken in 1.6. No time to try this on the Mac at the moment, but thanks for the report.
Last edited by bitplane on Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

I cannot reproduce this, not in 1.5 and not in trunk. Can you please give a screenshot for this problem? Does your device size exceed your desktop size? Do you use fullscreen or windowed mode? Since OpenGL does not have a square dimension restriction (as opposed to older DX) it could only be a projection problem or something like that. But I have no clue ATM.
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

Image

Additional info, if this helps

Image

Note that this is my new PC running Vista 64 and I've only just got it set up for development so haven't tried this example on it before. I'm going to be out for a couple of hours but will try in 1.5 and on the Mac when I get back.
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

OSX shows the stencil buffer size bug in trunk-

Image

update: tracking
Last edited by bitplane on Sat Feb 28, 2009 4:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
zotlerg
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:28 pm

Post by zotlerg »

I happy to know I'm not the only one with this, could it be that the shadow volume is being 2D clipped rather than the stencil being the wrong size?
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

The grey shadow overlay over the whole screen was a typo in svn trunk, which is now fixed in svn. The original bug zotlerg reported is still present.
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

This bug is now also fixed, was a projection error.
Post Reply