Camera teleportation

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
HackLeX
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:18 am

Camera teleportation

Post by HackLeX »

The question is:
How to teleport the camera bound by collision responce system?
When I try to set its position, it moves to the closest possible point
on the scene (the scene is a single BSP) and gets stucked...

Could anyone come up with an example of teleporting a collision responce-bound camera?
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=18062
there are probably more threads about this, just search the forum... ;)
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
HackLeX
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:18 am

Post by HackLeX »

Thanks for your answer and for your search, but there is no solution in
the topic mentioned above, just a discussion about how bad the situation is. :(
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

Acki wrote:I found no switch for enable/disable the collision response animator, but you can remove and add it !!!
So if you want to move the node use removeAnimator(ISceneNodeAnimator *animator) to remove the animator...
this is the solution mentioned in the thread... :roll:
in short terms:
1. remove the animator from the camera
2. move the camera
3. add a new animator to the camera

this is (currently) the only way to do it (AFAIK)... ;)
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
HackLeX
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:18 am

A dirty way is also a way, eh?

Post by HackLeX »

Oh... :? My excuses.
I never mind that method as a proper solution.

Okay... But anyway, these points must be set up properly in the later
versions of irrLicht IMHO...

Thanks for your answer and your time :)
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

I suppose you could add a bool parameter to setPosition which could be used to override the animator... Feel free to make the change and submit a patch ;)
Image Image Image
vitek
Bug Slayer
Posts: 3919
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 10:52 am
Location: Corvallis, OR

Post by vitek »

In 1.5, the animator has a setNode() method that allows this to work without modifying or rebuilding the library.

Travis
Post Reply