Typical irrlicht polycount on low-end hardware?

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding to Image manipulation, 3d modeling and level editing for the Irrlicht engine here.
Post Reply
ben
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 4:43 pm

Typical irrlicht polycount on low-end hardware?

Post by ben »

Hi,

Roughly what max number of polygons should I aim for on screen at any given time if I want to create a game that will run with a decent frame-rate on low end hardware?

Its going to be an RTS-esque sort of game, with a maximum of perhaps 100 units on screen at once, so I'm wondering how many polygons I should be restricting myself to per-unit. I will only be using low-res textures, (if any in some cases), no fancy effects etc.

Cheers,
Ben
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

Trial and error will give you the answer.. that's probably the best anyone can realistically offer you...

Especially without knowing what you mean by low end ;) Different people would consider different systems low end I would think!
Image Image Image
ben
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 4:43 pm

Post by ben »

Trial and error would have been my first approach, but I'm currently a few hundred miles away from the computer I'm wanting the game to be able to run on!
By low end I mean 512mb ram, 1.3 GHz processor, integrated intel graphics.

I'm only looking for a ballpark kind of figure, ie would it be closest to 1000, 2000, 5000, 10000, 100000 polygons?

I've made some very low poly models with ~20 polygons each, but they're the absolute minimum # of polys I can get them down to, and I'm wondering if I can use slightly nicer models than that.
Strong99
Admin
Posts: 687
Joined: Fri Mar 31, 2006 7:06 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Strong99 »

It also depends on the other calculations your application wil make, like shaders, amount of scenenodes and others
mc08
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:49 am

Post by mc08 »

strong99, didnt he say he didnt want any "fancy effects" and about 100 units(scene nodes?) at screen at once.

comeon, i have no clue myself, but give him an estimated number instead of "dunno, depends on...* "
JP
Posts: 4526
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:56 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by JP »

I'm sure you'll be perfectly alright with models as low poly as that :)
Image Image Image
ben
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 4:43 pm

Post by ben »

Just to clarify, I'm asking about a scenario with absolutely nothing except basic geometry. No shaders, no textures, no nothing... i.e. absolutely everything that could be disabled without affecting the core game play is disabled.

My reason for asking is that I wish to make this playable by multiple people over a network... and for it to be possible for me to test that, it will have to run on this low-spec computer too!
ben
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 4:43 pm

Post by ben »

JP wrote:I'm sure you'll be perfectly alright with models as low poly as that :)
Okay thanks, that's reassuring to know. In that case, I'll stick with the models I have and include an option somewhere to chose whether to use high or low-poly models. If anyone happens to run irrlicht on a pc of similar specs or can provide a guess as to an absolute poly-count it would still be helpful (because ideally I'd like to make some of the models a bit nicer!), but its good to know that I can fall back on the super-low poly models if I need to.
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Post by CuteAlien »

Problem with numbers is that it really depends on so many factors, often stuff is slower on cards which should be faster, etc. But anyway - as a rough guess I would say you are fine somewhere between 10000 and 50000 polygons.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
Frank Dodd
Posts: 208
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2006 9:20 pm

Post by Frank Dodd »

I have just managed to get a 'new' Athlon Thunderbird for my machine which is 1.33Ghz, 512Mb RAM with a 64Mb GeForce2 Ultra so its all up and running again and sounds close to your target machine. At the moment I am running the CPU at 1Ghz too. Its still a remarkably effective platform that can run World of Warcraft, not bad for an 8 year old graphics card :D

I knocked up a fast test with the Irrlicht supplied BSP map and 49 animated quake models. It contained 40774 prims and ran at 20fps. At 100 quake models it contained 72853 prims and ran at 12fps.

The quake 2 model 'Zumlin' contains 629 prims, I would imagine the models for an RTS game could be 1/2 this density or less and / or paged in based on level of detail rules.
ben
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 4:43 pm

Post by ben »

That's great guys, thanks!

In that case I'll try to keep it below about 20000. That should allow me a few extra polys per model, which is nice.

Thanks again!
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

Hmmm, that is a fairly low end machine (compared to current ones) but something like 150 or 200 triangles per unit can make a very decent design for an RTS. Besides, the buildings and the static details can be sped a bit up if your hardware supported vertex buffer objects :)

As a recomendation too, you should have only 1 texture per unit, and it is said that 256x256 pixels offer a great eficiency in old hardware.
Last edited by Mel on Fri May 29, 2009 8:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
FuzzYspo0N
Posts: 914
Joined: Fri Aug 03, 2007 12:43 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Post by FuzzYspo0N »

Once you have tested that, add more until it starts lagging. then you can find good balance rather than a random guess.
Adler1337
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: In your base.

Post by Adler1337 »

You should be able to get around 30000 polys with textures :D
multum in parvo
Mel
Competition winner
Posts: 2292
Joined: Wed May 07, 2008 11:40 am
Location: Granada, Spain

Post by Mel »

Mmmm, that is something i learned to avoid, to try and make the polycount limit in the scene's polycount. Obviously is a very intuitive limit, but can be deceiving. It is the same important as the highest amount of polygons the kind of materials they have, the variety of the textures and the number of meshbuffers each model may have. If your units render with only 1 meshbuffer, it requires less processing than if you have several in one single model, that is what means to have a single texture in your model. Just 1 meshbuffer.

Im not too sure either, but also, batching the rendering of the same kind of meshbuffers can help too.
"There is nothing truly useless, it always serves as a bad example". Arthur A. Schmitt
Post Reply