Bug in Meshviewer

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
lpcpp
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:26 am
Location: Neverland
Contact:

Bug in Meshviewer

Post by lpcpp »

Once open a .md3 file in MeshViewer,
The MeshViewer will give out a error box when close the meshviwer window
Lil Margin
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Netherlands Antilles, Curacao

Post by Lil Margin »

What does the error say?
lpcpp
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:26 am
Location: Neverland
Contact:

Post by lpcpp »

Lil Margin wrote:What does the error say?
Memory can't write
Last edited by lpcpp on Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
lpcpp
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:26 am
Location: Neverland
Contact:

Post by lpcpp »

Image
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

You have to copy the exact error message, show the stacktrace from the debugger, and probably also upload the md3 file somewhere (if allowed). Because my md3 files work.
lpcpp
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:26 am
Location: Neverland
Contact:

Post by lpcpp »

hybrid wrote:You have to copy the exact error message, show the stacktrace from the debugger, and probably also upload the md3 file somewhere (if allowed). Because my md3 files work.
My md3 file is copied from quake3,
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Mine is probably not, but I doubt that this fact will help. The thing is that the loader might break with some feature of the md3 files, but my files don't have this problem. So I cannot fix the loader, but you can debug it.
lpcpp
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:26 am
Location: Neverland
Contact:

Post by lpcpp »

stacktrace

> Irrlicht.dll!10087054()
Irrlicht.dll!100c319c()
Irrlicht.dll!100c3055()
Irrlicht.dll!1007adc2()
Irrlicht.dll!1007f148()
Irrlicht.dll!1007ca80()
Irrlicht.dll!1007c7c5()
Irrlicht.dll!1010acad()
Irrlicht.dll!1010bde8()
09.MeshViewer.exe!0040495b()
09.MeshViewer.exe!004071ab()
kmon.dll!600076f1()
kmon.dll!60005a1c()
kmon.dll!6000880f()
09.MeshViewer.exe!00407050()
kernel32.dll!7c817077()


Wrong here
10087054 call dword ptr [edx+8]
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

You have to compile Irrlicht and your app in debug mode, then the source code will be shown :idea:
lpcpp
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:26 am
Location: Neverland
Contact:

Post by lpcpp »

I found that md3 file without animations works well,
But md3 file with animations have the problem.

such as this md3 model,did you test this model?
Image
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

Try to find a free md3 model which also has these problems. Animations are working, at least some. I can have a look at this once I can reproduce the problem.
lpcpp
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:26 am
Location: Neverland
Contact:

Post by lpcpp »

hybrid wrote:Try to find a free md3 model which also has these problems. Animations are working, at least some. I can have a look at this once I can reproduce the problem.
here are 2 md3 models copied from QuakeIII,
http://www.cppblog.com/Files/billhsu/players.rar
The MeshViewer will give out a error box when close the meshviwer window after load these md3 files

My irrlicht is 1.5.1
lpcpp
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:26 am
Location: Neverland
Contact:

Post by lpcpp »

hybrid,did you try the models above in MeshViewer?
lpcpp
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 9:26 am
Location: Neverland
Contact:

Post by lpcpp »

Code: Select all

if (Model)
   Model->remove();
Error Here
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

I did load all mesh parts, and did get no error with any of them. I've even valgrind'ed the model loading and did find no problems.
Post Reply