Loading textures from resources.

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

Loading textures from resources.

Post by 3DModelerMan »

Does Irrlicht have a way of loading textures from resources? I want to use the resource compiler to save a little space in my project. And so I need to be able to load the files from compiled resources.
Thanks.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
Mircea Popescu
Posts: 26
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 12:48 pm

Post by Mircea Popescu »

I know it can either load zips/pk3s

Code: Select all

device->getFileSystem()->addZipFileArchive("filename")
or else it can load precompiled quake levels

Code: Select all

scene::IQ3LevelMesh*) sm->getMesh("filename");
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

Post by 3DModelerMan »

Yeah I knew about those. I mean the resources that MSVC compiles into the program.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

This is windows specific stuff, you need to do it in your app.
bitplane
Admin
Posts: 3204
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:45 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by bitplane »

I wrote a cross platform Windows RSRC loader just before the 1.6 release, but it still needs a little work to bring it up-to-date with the changes that went in to the release.
You can find some info and links to the project here:
http://bitplane.net/projects/irrlicht/loaders/rsrc/
Submit bugs/patches to the tracker!
Need help right now? Visit the chat room
Post Reply