New user Dev-C++ or Code Blocks

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
maniek099
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:09 am

New user Dev-C++ or Code Blocks

Post by maniek099 »

Hello! I'm not speak English very well so sorry for my words and please write simple language to me. I'm new and I want instal Irrlicht in my computer. I downloaded Irrlicht 1.7.1 and I read Tutorial for Code Blocks but I don't understand many thinks, so I read tutorial for Dev C++ and there mr. Andy Spurgeon wrote than I need create a new empty project and add files
* libIrrlicht.a -- the Irrlicht library
* libjpeg.a -- the Independant JPEG group library
* libz.a -- the zlib compression library

from /bin/Dev-C++

but in Irrlicht 1.7.1 there isn't that files
:?

Can somebody help me, what I have to do to run Irrlicht in Dev C++ or Code Blocks on Windows XP??
Murloc992
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Utena,Lithuania

Post by Murloc992 »

Why don't you want to use Visual C++ Studio Express?

It's comfortable, and relatively easy to set up on XP :)
GRAVITY
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:58 pm

Post by GRAVITY »

Code Blocks:

1) Create New Project
2) go to Properties of your project
3) Builds_targets -> Build_options -> Linker_settings:
Add libs: "Xxf86vm" and "GL".
4) Builds_targets -> Build_options -> Search_directories -> Linker:
Add path to folder with your librarys


thats all what you need

:wink:
Adler1337
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: In your base.

Post by Adler1337 »

Why don't you want to use Visual C++ Studio Express?

It's comfortable, and relatively easy to set up on XP
Yeah, but it also requires you to have .net framework in order to run your program.
multum in parvo
onesixtyfourth
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:18 am

Post by onesixtyfourth »

I have always found code::blocks pretty good.
Glasys
Noli illegitimi carborundum
3DModelerMan
Posts: 1691
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 9:42 pm

Post by 3DModelerMan »

I like Code::Blocks. But I also know there's a way you can get Visual C++ Express to not require the .net runtime.
That would be illogical captain...

My first full game:
http://www.kongregate.com/games/3DModel ... tor#tipjar
Murloc992
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Utena,Lithuania

Post by Murloc992 »

3DModelerMan wrote:I like Code::Blocks. But I also know there's a way you can get Visual C++ Express to not require the .net runtime.
Seems like C::B is kinda outdated.. But is its compiler speed faster compared to VC++? Because I have some sad experience with VC++ :S
Adler1337
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: In your base.

Post by Adler1337 »

Seems like C::B is kinda outdated
iirc, C::B is updated regularly.
multum in parvo
andres
Competition winner
Posts: 78
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 5:18 pm
Location: Guarapuava/Brazil
Contact:

Post by andres »

use codeblocks. if possible download and setup the Night Build version.
Prof. Andres Jessé Porfirio
Federal Technological University of Parana (UTFPR)
www.andresjesse.com
http://irrrpgbuilder.sourceforge.net

Image
GRAVITY
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:58 pm

Post by GRAVITY »

I never understood the reason to use proprietary software, when there
free, not inferior to the functional and convenience, analog.

... and visual studio does not meet the standard C ++

sorry for my worst english)
maniek099
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 02, 2010 10:09 am

Post by maniek099 »

GRAVITY wrote:Code Blocks:

1) Create New Project
2) go to Properties of your project
3) Builds_targets -> Build_options -> Linker_settings:
Add libs: "Xxf86vm" and "GL".
4) Builds_targets -> Build_options -> Search_directories -> Linker:
Add path to folder with your librarys


thats all what you need

:wink:
1) What Project? Empty? Console?

3) In zip Irrlicht 1.7.1 from http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/downloads.html
there isn't libs named ""Xxf86vm" and "GL".

There is only libIrrlicht.a for Win32-gcc and Irrlicht.lib for Win32 visualstudio. I can't find xxf86vm and GL :cry:
GRAVITY
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 6:58 pm

Post by GRAVITY »

I created an empty project
I don't know how configured win code-blocks project.

But you can see settings of your IDE in samples IrrLicht. Just open "cbp" project, and see how it is configured.


----
xxf86vm and GL - not IrrLicht libs... )
Ubuntu 9.10 + Codeblocks 8.02 + irrlicht 1.7.1
Brainsaw
Posts: 1183
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

If you use Code::Blocks there is an Irrlicht project template shiped with it. As I use the last stable release I always have to change the device creation parameter type for the resolution from <s32> to <u32> manually, but apart from that it's a great starting point.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Sylence
Posts: 725
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 9:01 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Sylence »

Adler1337 wrote:Yeah, but it also requires you to have .net framework in order to run your program.
Nope. You only need the .NET framework if you use it in your program. Would be no other in code::blocks ;)

The only thing you need is the Visual Studio Runtime. However you can of course change the project settings so the runtime will be linked static.

And of course you can write standard c++ in visual studio.
Software documentation is like sex. If it's good you want more. If it's bad it's better than nothing.
Adler1337
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2008 6:10 pm
Location: In your base.

Post by Adler1337 »

Nope. You only need the .NET framework if you use it in your program. Would be no other in code::blocks

The only thing you need is the Visual Studio Runtime. However you can of course change the project settings so the runtime will be linked static.
I always thought you needed it. :oops: Thanks for clearing that up. I still prefer using CodeBlocks though.
multum in parvo
Post Reply