If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Moore
Posts: 31 Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:23 pm
Location: Poland
Post
by Moore » Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:28 pm
I'm new and i have problem. I try to load my pk3 file, but i see only grey window. It's code:
Code: Select all
#include <irrlicht.h>
using namespace irr;
using namespace core;
using namespace scene;
using namespace video;
int main()
{
IrrlichtDevice* device = createDevice( EDT_OPENGL, dimension2d<s32>(800, 600),
32, false, false, false, 0);
IVideoDriver* driver = device->getVideoDriver();
ISceneManager* smgr = device->getSceneManager();
device->setWindowCaption(L"Test");//nagłówek okna
device->getFileSystem()->addZipFileArchive("test.pk3");
IAnimatedMesh* mesh = smgr->getMesh("test.bsp");
ISceneNode* node = 0;
if (mesh)
node = smgr->addOctTreeSceneNode(mesh->getMesh(0), 0, -1, 1024);
node = smgr->addMeshSceneNode(mesh->getMesh(0));
smgr->addCameraSceneNodeFPS();
device->getCursorControl()->setVisible(false);
int lastFPS = -1;
while(device->run())
{
if (device->isWindowActive())
{
driver->beginScene(true, true, SColor(255,200,200,200));
smgr->drawAll();
driver->endScene();
int fps = driver->getFPS();
if (lastFPS != fps)
{
stringw str = L"Irrlicht Engine - Quake 3 Map example [";
str += driver->getName();
str += "] FPS:";
str += fps;
device->setWindowCaption(str.c_str());
lastFPS = fps;
}
}
else
device->yield();
}
}
In consol is somthing like this:
Needed 0ms to create OctTree SceneNode.(0 nodesm o polys)
What?
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
Posts: 1123 Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm
Post
by Lonesome Ducky » Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:40 pm
Sounds like it loaded correctly, it may be that it didn't load the textures or that the model is offscreen.
Moore
Posts: 31 Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:23 pm
Location: Poland
Post
by Moore » Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:50 pm
I used textures form GTKRadiant(specifically-quake3), but i haven't they in my pk3. May it's problem?(i thought, in pk3 must be only myself textures)
Btw. what is 4th argument in " node = smgr->addOctTreeSceneNode(mesh->getMesh(0), 0, -1, 1024);"
What?
Lonesome Ducky
Competition winner
Posts: 1123 Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 11:14 pm
Post
by Lonesome Ducky » Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:59 pm
minimalPolysPerNode. Every part of the oct tree has to have at least that many I'm guessing, so if you lower it there will be more sections.
Moore
Posts: 31 Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:23 pm
Location: Poland
Post
by Moore » Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:06 pm
Ok, but what can i do this scene load correctly? You said code is ok.
When i compiled test.map into bsp(by Q3Map2, 11th option) i get tes.:
bsp,bak,prt and srf. I have these files in Maps(Script are empty). I did zip file and changed name into pk3. Something wrong? Why this not working
What?
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734 Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:
Post
by CuteAlien » Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:40 pm
Did you try loading it in example 09 (meshviewer) or example 21 (Quake3Explorer)?
Moore
Posts: 31 Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:23 pm
Location: Poland
Post
by Moore » Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:14 pm
Yes, but i can't compil it. There are always some errors :/
For example(02.Quake3Map):I have error in
Code: Select all
IrrlichtDevice *device =
createDevice(driverType, core::dimension2d<u32>(640, 480));
When i write
Code: Select all
IrrlichtDevice *device =
createDevice(driverType, core::dimension2d<s32>(640, 480));
There is new error(
129 'class irr::scene::ISceneManager' has no member named 'addOctreeSceneNode' ).In
Code: Select all
node = smgr->addOctreeSceneNode(mesh->getMesh(0), 0, -1, 1024);
What?
ent1ty
Competition winner
Posts: 1106 Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:09 am
Post
by ent1ty » Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:18 pm
Go to bin\win32-visualstudio, there are precompiled binaries in there
kiwibonga
Posts: 3 Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 3:25 am
Post
by kiwibonga » Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:47 pm
It should be "OctTree" instead of "Octree", assuming you're using an older version of Irrlicht like 1.6... Newer versions call them "Octree"
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734 Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:
Post
by CuteAlien » Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:17 pm
Always use the examples which come with the Irrlicht download. The sources are in the examples folder and the Windows executables are,as ent1ty mentioned, in the bin folder.
Moore
Posts: 31 Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:23 pm
Location: Poland
Post
by Moore » Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:07 am
But i used it! I have Irrlicht 1.7 and this code is from example/
May it's dev cpp fault
What?
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143 Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:
Post
by hybrid » Tue Mar 09, 2010 8:56 am
Yes, example is correct. However, you're using 1.6 or older headers. This won't work ever.
Moore
Posts: 31 Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:23 pm
Location: Poland
Post
by Moore » Tue Mar 09, 2010 5:24 pm
Uh, sorry i forget i have two verison of irrlicht. In dev i have instaled 1.4 and example is from 1.7. My fault, sorry.
So i used exemaple 2 feom irrlicht 1.4. My application run but again there is only grey window.
What?
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143 Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:
Post
by hybrid » Tue Mar 09, 2010 9:02 pm
Maybe wrong paths, incorrect dlls, or whatever. Without a proper information we cannot judge this from here.
Moore
Posts: 31 Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:23 pm
Location: Poland
Post
by Moore » Sun Mar 21, 2010 9:42 am
What informations you need?
What?