0.7 is very slower
-
- Posts: 237
- Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 3:18 pm
- Location: Canada
I confirm the slider don't work
Also I tried to compile techdemo0.6 with irrlicht0.7 to see if it still works (because the 2 techdemos are different)
But the button "start demo" don't do anything when you press it (so you can't start the demo).
the same thing happen with the user interface example. If you compile version 0.6 with irrlicht 0.7, the "quit", "new window" and "file open" buttons don't do anything, also the "transparency" slider don't make any change...
So I think there is surely changes in the GUI that make the old syntax obsolete.
Also I tried to compile techdemo0.6 with irrlicht0.7 to see if it still works (because the 2 techdemos are different)
But the button "start demo" don't do anything when you press it (so you can't start the demo).
the same thing happen with the user interface example. If you compile version 0.6 with irrlicht 0.7, the "quit", "new window" and "file open" buttons don't do anything, also the "transparency" slider don't make any change...
So I think there is surely changes in the GUI that make the old syntax obsolete.
@cmoibelenpro: you r compiling the techdemo with Relo and the toolkit? Cause if I compile it with VC6 or VC7 .net it compiles and runs and works ok, but when I try to do it with Relo I get the following error:
fatal error RC1107: invalid usage; use RC /? for Help
otherwise the techdemo works ok with MSVC6 and 7
and yup, it seems like the coding for uis and sliders in 0.6 is now obsolete
updates plz!
cheers!
fatal error RC1107: invalid usage; use RC /? for Help
otherwise the techdemo works ok with MSVC6 and 7
and yup, it seems like the coding for uis and sliders in 0.6 is now obsolete
updates plz!
cheers!
Last edited by afecelis on Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
It's a change in the createDevice() function, the parameters've been juggled about.cmoibenlepro wrote:I confirm the slider don't work
Also I tried to compile techdemo0.6 with irrlicht0.7 to see if it still works (because the 2 techdemos are different)
But the button "start demo" don't do anything when you press it (so you can't start the demo).
the same thing happen with the user interface example. If you compile version 0.6 with irrlicht 0.7, the "quit", "new window" and "file open" buttons don't do anything, also the "transparency" slider don't make any change...
So I think there is surely changes in the GUI that make the old syntax obsolete.
The error I posted above is when trying to compile an icon resource mixed with audiere or other external engine. I removed the rc from the relo project and everything compiles ok till the end, where i get this error:
C:\Irrlicht\examples\Techdemo\ReloTechDemo.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
@cmoibelenpro: So let us know if the problems you got with the techdemo r when compiling it with Relo or msvc
C:\Irrlicht\examples\Techdemo\ReloTechDemo.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
@cmoibelenpro: So let us know if the problems you got with the techdemo r when compiling it with Relo or msvc
-
- Posts: 237
- Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 3:18 pm
- Location: Canada
found!
change the following line in the particle editor:
to:
works like a charm
the explanation? there is a new parameter in createDevice called vsync.
if you don't add this additional false, it pass the gui events to the vsync instead of the gui reciever.
it's the same bug I got with the techdemo and gui example. Now they are working both now.
also to compile the techdemo I needed to compile it as a windows application because I was getting errors othewise (but I needed to modify the ressource line in the msvc.ini file, to:
ResCompileCmd=rc -fo"$OUT" "$IN"
(the same thing I used for the console application settings))
hope it helps.
change the following line in the particle editor:
Code: Select all
device = createDevice(video::EDT_DIRECTX9, core::dimension2d<s32>(800, 600), 32, false, false, this);
Code: Select all
device = createDevice(video::EDT_DIRECTX9, core::dimension2d<s32>(800, 600), 32, false, false, false, this);
the explanation? there is a new parameter in createDevice called vsync.
if you don't add this additional false, it pass the gui events to the vsync instead of the gui reciever.
it's the same bug I got with the techdemo and gui example. Now they are working both now.
sorry I don't get this error. Did you use the ressource file that come with the techdemo? I got problem with it, so I just used the same rc file that I used in my example... you only need the icon.fatal error RC1107: invalid usage; use RC /? for Help
also to compile the techdemo I needed to compile it as a windows application because I was getting errors othewise (but I needed to modify the ressource line in the msvc.ini file, to:
ResCompileCmd=rc -fo"$OUT" "$IN"
(the same thing I used for the console application settings))
hope it helps.
-
- Posts: 237
- Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 3:18 pm
- Location: Canada
@cmoibelenpro:
it worked! thnx, as usual. I got some questions though. If I include the icon resource file I get errors. R u compiling the icon rc as well? are you getting audio output on your relo techdemo version exe?
one last general question: It takes a lot of time to unload everything and go back to windows. The music and dos windows stay there for several seconds before going back to normal state. Is anybody else experiencing this lagg? oh yes, and If I compile my stuff using a DX renderer stuff loads up immediately, but if I use OpenGL it takes several seconds to start loading stuff. Is opengl doing some sort of pre-caching or something?
cheers!
it worked! thnx, as usual. I got some questions though. If I include the icon resource file I get errors. R u compiling the icon rc as well? are you getting audio output on your relo techdemo version exe?
one last general question: It takes a lot of time to unload everything and go back to windows. The music and dos windows stay there for several seconds before going back to normal state. Is anybody else experiencing this lagg? oh yes, and If I compile my stuff using a DX renderer stuff loads up immediately, but if I use OpenGL it takes several seconds to start loading stuff. Is opengl doing some sort of pre-caching or something?
cheers!
Afecelis, just to let you know:
Vsynching is basically something you can set so a certain frame rate is maintained in relation to the monitors refresh rate at a certain resolution. So, for example, let's say that at 800X600 a 85 mhz refresh is set, then basically, you can't exceed 85 FPS. It is basically to make transitions of frames as smooth as possible, but sometimes has negative effects. Keep in mind though, that the human eye can only process 60 FPS, so everything above it is basically useless, hehe
Vsynching is basically something you can set so a certain frame rate is maintained in relation to the monitors refresh rate at a certain resolution. So, for example, let's say that at 800X600 a 85 mhz refresh is set, then basically, you can't exceed 85 FPS. It is basically to make transitions of frames as smooth as possible, but sometimes has negative effects. Keep in mind though, that the human eye can only process 60 FPS, so everything above it is basically useless, hehe
thnx brc, I think I felt the effects of vsyncing in doom3. It's off by default and sometimes when turning around you could see the rendering process going line by line which would really hurt your eyes.
I had to turn Vsyncing on, but gamers usually recommend to leave it off.
Is it on or off in Irrlicht? oh yes, the third false is for it, right?
thnx thnx thnx
I had to turn Vsyncing on, but gamers usually recommend to leave it off.
Is it on or off in Irrlicht? oh yes, the third false is for it, right?
thnx thnx thnx