Network Gameplay?

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
Dogs
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:04 am
Location: michigan

Network Gameplay?

Post by Dogs »

How would you go about using this engine for network gameplay.?
Im not much of a programmer.... Is this something that is allready incorporated into this engine and ive just not read about it or is this something that is going to be added in the near future... Maybe if someone has working networking code please email me if you wish...
Ive got the txt chat part ready to go I just basicaly need to be able to see others walking around in the world when they log onto a server app and load there avatars that they are using... Like quake but without the console... I want to set the ip addresss in the code and when the level loads its logs onto the server and no interface will be needed... The chat part Im using will allow the user to chose a screen name and so on....
Flatline
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:46 am
Location: England

Post by Flatline »

I'm afraid you're probably going to have to implement networking yourself. As far as I know there's no intention of doing so in Irrlicht itself, it's rather outside the remit of a 3D graphics engine ;)
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

People r using Raknet, which is free and quite easy to implement in Irrlicht:

http://www.rakkarsoft.com/#Downloads
Image
Dogs
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:04 am
Location: michigan

Post by Dogs »

Well like I said before im not a very good programmer... The tutorials for this engine I think I could figure out in time... I have looked at this networking system before and cant make heads or tails of it.. Could someone point me in the direction of the people that you say are using raknet... Maybe they could help me out with sample of how to set this system up to load and show avatars walking around in a networked envirnment... Like I said ive got the text chat part ready to go I just need to be able to figure out how to set the code up and add the servers ip in the code so that when the exe is executed it logs into the server and others that are logged on will see there avatar walking around in the levels visa versa... I do not need any interaction at all... example being able to be shot or die or anything of that nature at all...
This has been the major lacking feild in every 3d engine that Ive looked at so far that is either free or cheap for me to afford.. Im learning but im a visual learner and sure could use some help on this one lol....
Thanks loads for any help anyone could give...
Flatline
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2004 7:46 am
Location: England

Post by Flatline »

It's lacking because, as I said, it's not PART of a 3D engine. Did you take a look at the RakNet site? There are several beginner tutorials on the site which should set you straight.
Dogs
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:04 am
Location: michigan

Post by Dogs »

And as I said in the post just above yes I looked at the racknet site and have gone over some of the tutorials and cant make heads or tails outa how to and where to put any of this code to make it work... Im interested still becuase of the post that says people are using racknet for this... If people are using racknet for this then could someone please point me to the people that are using this... Why because they obviosly know how to make it work or they wouldnt be using it... And im aware of that its not incorporated into this engine... But think about it this way... If there was examples with this type of code using this engine then game developers like myself that dont know much code could maybe figure it out... Why import quake maps if there isnt any network code...?
Im not here to bug people I just want some info on how to make my game muliplayer with networking is all...
Oz
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2004 3:34 pm

Post by Oz »

I cant help with your problem (yet), but I can reword it, in ozzy-lingo. (Hopefully that will help)

Question: Are there any RakNet+Irrlicht examples, please? With sourcecode is much prefered since RakNet is another subject. Thank you, very much!

Hope this helps! (Didnt find any myself, but im too bogged down with other stuff ATM) :?
-Ozzy.
"When we looked at the relics of the precursors, we saw what heights civilization can attain.
When we looked at their ruins, we marked the danger of that height." -Keeper Annals
(Thief2: The Metal Age)
saigumi
Posts: 921
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:31 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Post by saigumi »

Well.. I do have this out there.. It's a RakNet server with an Irrlicht GUI control.

http://www.saigumi.net/server.zip

As far as a full demo.. nope, don't have one that I can let the source out for.

Also, the best place to ask about how to network is on the forum of the network API you are using. Also, gamedev.net has a great series on networking.
Crud, how do I do this again?
Dogs
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:04 am
Location: michigan

Post by Dogs »

Thank you both for all your help ill take a look at this example... Its just very hard to figure out what has to changed in this engines code to make the raknet work.. And just figured that if people where using it with this engine that maybe I could get some examples so I could figure it out.. I noticed I think it was in a screen shot that someone had a chat box up and it looked like it was a multiplayer system.. I was hopeing to find someone here that has set theres up to work in a multiplayer setup and maybe point me in the proper dir... I know that some things in the code will need to be updated somehow to show the new locations of the logged in users and to load there actor as well... This is the major problem im woried about.. I think that maybe with a simple example that in time I could figure out the raknet system but Im lost on how to incorporate it into this system to work.. lol.
Again thanks very much for your help.. Ill check out and see if I can find the section here in the forum about the networking and ask there as well... Maybe someone there can help out more in detail..
Again thanks very much..
Guest

Post by Guest »

If you're not a good programmer, then maybe you should try to develop something a bit easier.
saigumi
Posts: 921
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:31 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Post by saigumi »

Raknet comes with multiple examples and even a complete game with source.

Have you read the networking articles on gamedev.net, yet?
Crud, how do I do this again?
Dogs
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:04 am
Location: michigan

Post by Dogs »

I just returned from a couple days away.. Im going to do more research into the racknet system yes... Thanks for your help..
And as for guest..... Let me say this.. Im sure you was a newbie to this at one time as well and asked some questions too... And if the time comes that you find you need to ask questions on some kinda forum I only hope that all the people there on that forum give you the same answer you just posted to me...

But to all the rest of people that have been great help thanks again..
saigumi
Posts: 921
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 11:31 am
Location: St. Louis, MO USA
Contact:

Post by saigumi »

Seeing as how quite a few of us post in the raknet forum also.... it's a good chance you'll get good help.
Crud, how do I do this again?
Post Reply