[code::blocks]How do i achieve this box for...

Discussion about everything. New games, 3d math, development tips...
Post Reply
Lil Margin
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Netherlands Antilles, Curacao

[code::blocks]How do i achieve this box for...

Post by Lil Margin »

What do you call this box ? : Image


And why is it that when i use an object class from another object class i dont get this box?, how do i make it that this box exploration can go deeper into the code?
Acki
Posts: 3496
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:04 am
Location: Nobody's Place (Venlo NL)
Contact:

Post by Acki »

it's called "IntelliSense" !!! ;)

well, C::B has some little problems with it...
sometimes it's enough to save the file and C::B parses the code for it...
but sometimes you'll need to close the project and reload it so C::B parses the code...
while(!asleep) sheep++;
IrrExtensions:Image
http://abusoft.g0dsoft.com
try Stendhal a MORPG written in Java
Lil Margin
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Netherlands Antilles, Curacao

Post by Lil Margin »

I closed the project and reopened it but it seems that when i try to access a member of a irrlicht class thats defined in another self-made class, it wont show the Intelisense, the code works 100% and has no flaws with it.

I tried rebuilding, re-opining but till now none of those worked.
DtD
Posts: 264
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 7:05 am
Location: Kansas
Contact:

Post by DtD »

To be more specific, Intellisense is the name for it in Visual Studio. The generic name is code completion.
Kalango
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:46 am

Post by Kalango »

Try to make your class paths as include paths for the compiler options..
It should work... codeblocks is not 100% with the code completion box.
You could also try code lite... for developing...
d3jake
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Mar 22, 2008 7:49 pm
Location: United States of America

Post by d3jake »

As mentioned before, the code completion in CodeBlocks is a bit tempermental. Generally, if you need to access some data type within Irrlicht, you can type the name of the namespace its in (ex: core::) and that box will pop up.

I hope I understood your question correctly.
The Open Descent Foundation is always looking for programmers! http://www.odf-online.org
"I'll find out if what I deleted was vital here shortly..." -d3jake
Lil Margin
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Jul 19, 2009 4:24 am
Location: Netherlands Antilles, Curacao

Post by Lil Margin »

Hmmm thats not exactly what i ment :/

Lets say i defined the irrlicht device inside a selfmade class called device.h (and implemented in device.cpp)

And then i include the device.h in my main.cpp and use it in my while loop like this

Code: Select all

while (mydevice.return_device()->run())
for some reason i dont get the code completion box/intellisense when i type

Code: Select all

mydevice.return_device()->
and that puts that i have to write the

Code: Select all

->run()
manualy.

I hope i could of explain better (english isnt my first neither my main language but i gues you figured by now :lol: )
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

d3jake's method works (for me). I switched from "using irr" to "irr::", so that I have to write "irr::core::vector3f v" instead of "vector3df v", but this way Code::Blocks seems to get code completion done.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Post Reply