[SOLVED] Baking AO to texture map.

Post your questions, suggestions and experiences regarding to Image manipulation, 3d modeling and level editing for the Irrlicht engine here.
Post Reply
B@z
Posts: 876
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 5:05 pm
Location: Hungary

Post by B@z »

hmm i dont know how is it in blender, i did it with giles, and worked as expected

ah btw, u have to set up the materialtype in irrlicht to enable lightmap

map->setMaterialType(EMT_LIGHTMAP/*_M2 or _M4 if u wanna brighten it*/);

something like this
Image
Image
Iyad
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:18 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post by Iyad »

Code: Select all

map->setMaterialType(EMT_LIGHTMAP/*_M2 or _M4 if u wanna brighten it*/); 
Yes i use this for static meshes.

The real problem is;
It only works for static from what I know but thats no problem as Gile[s] does not support animated models anyway.
B3D | Blitz3D
import+export, full support for static geometry and hierachy, and all material settings
So how can i add lightmaps to b3d models (exported with Gandalfs exporter)? Or simply, how can i have non real time shadows on my mesh?

Thx for answering
#include <Iyad.h>
Insomniacp
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:45 am
Contact:

Post by Insomniacp »

you could bake the lights and textures and just use that as your texture in irrlicht... Haven't ever used blender much or been good at it though so it may not work well but figured it may help you :). I don't know which menu this was in though...
Iyad
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:18 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post by Iyad »

Insomniacp:
you could bake the lights and textures and just use that as your texture in irrlicht...
Well, thats exactly what im asking people about :) .
but figured it may help you
Thx for trying hehehe.
#include <Iyad.h>
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

Post by Virion »

i am using blender myself and have been baking tons of AO maps. I just put it as another layer in photoshop and set the layer to multiply. ta'da done.
Last edited by Virion on Fri Jun 04, 2010 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Post by hybrid »

b3d supports lightmaps also for animated meshes, and Irrlicht would also load them as expected if properly exported. So my bet is that the lightmap material is not exported.
Iyad
Posts: 140
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2009 1:18 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Post by Iyad »

So my bet is that the lightmap material is not exported.
Yes Hybrid, I dont think Gandalfs exporter export 2nd texture layers. (Well i tryed many times I didnt get it...)
I just put it as another layer in photoshop and set the layer to multiple.
YES!!!
It worked thanks alot Virion.
[ta'da SOLVED]
#include <Iyad.h>
Virion
Competition winner
Posts: 2148
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2006 5:04 am

Post by Virion »

sorry it's multiply not multiple. typo.
Post Reply