IrrODE - an Irrlicht - ODE wrapper (now with SVN)

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

I don't see a reason why it shouldn't get faster after a while. As said before even my netbook (where the Atom is the bottleneck) runs at 50FPS (but you have to wait for about 5-10 seconds for the scenery to settle).
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Murloc992
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Utena,Lithuania

Post by Murloc992 »

Brainsaw wrote:I don't see a reason why it shouldn't get faster after a while. As said before even my netbook (where the Atom is the bottleneck) runs at 50FPS (but you have to wait for about 5-10 seconds for the scenery to settle).
I am sorry to say but I waited 10 minutes patiently and still 1 fps. I can even move the car, but on 1 fps it's ridiculous.
Murloc992
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Utena,Lithuania

Post by Murloc992 »

Ok it seems it fixed itself somehow, recompilled and now can enjoy 300FPS+ performance. Awesome demos. :P
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

Hmm ... OK ... nice to hear. Which compiler are you using? On my system the VC compiled demo is a lot slower than the gcc compiled one.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Murloc992
Posts: 272
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 2:45 pm
Location: Utena,Lithuania

Post by Murloc992 »

Brainsaw wrote:Hmm ... OK ... nice to hear. Which compiler are you using? On my system the VC compiled demo is a lot slower than the gcc compiled one.
I am using VC++ 2008, but it still gives reasonable performance. :)
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

That's nice. I haven't really tried to enhance the performance using VC, because I don't use it ;)


New version online:

Fixed a little bug in the selection of objects in the IrrOdeCar demo: it now works for all objects that can be removed.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Zurzaza
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:41 pm
Location: Filo (FE), Italy
Contact:

Post by Zurzaza »

brainsaw, i've got a strange error while using your code.
I'm organizing my "engine code" into class, so i made a function called "initOde" in my "engine" class.
The class contains all irrlicht's environment allocated variables (smgr, device, ...), but everytime the function is called, when it try to alloc the worldnode (with addSceneNode), it returns me a NULL pointer.
I also tried to semplifying my function by pasting your original code:

Code: Select all

bool Engine::initOde()
{

	CIrrOdeSceneNodeFactory cFactory = CIrrOdeSceneNodeFactory(smgr);
	smgr->registerSceneNodeFactory(&cFactory);
	odeFactory = &cFactory;

	CIrrOdeManager::getSharedInstance()->initODE();

	//set IrrODE's timer
	pTimer=device->getTimer();
	CIrrOdeManager::getSharedInstance()->setTimer(pTimer);
	
	if(!pTimer)
		return false;
	ISceneNode * parent = smgr->getRootSceneNode();
    pNode=smgr->addSceneNode("abcd",parent);
    worldNode=reinterpret_cast<CIrrOdeWorld *>(pNode);

	if(pNode)
		return true;
	else
		return false;

}
but nothing changed.
The pointer pNode will also turn into a NULL pointer.
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

Hmm ... I think in the line

Code: Select all

pNode=smgr->addSceneNode("abcd",parent); 
you have to specify the type name of the scene node you want to add, so you should try "CIrrOdeWorld" instead of "abcd".
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Zurzaza
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:41 pm
Location: Filo (FE), Italy
Contact:

Post by Zurzaza »

ok now it seems to work...i forgot that parameter thank you :wink:
robertianbelgica
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:50 am
Location: Philippines

Encountered an error

Post by robertianbelgica »

Hi i was able to compile all the library files and include it in the code unfortunately i encountered one error.
this the error prompt:
6>LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file '..\..\libs\ode-0.11-vc\lib\ReleaseSingleDLL\ode_single.lib'

pls i really need some help. Thanks
robertianbelgica
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:50 am
Location: Philippines

Another problem

Post by robertianbelgica »

we already solved the problem but another problem occured. we cant open the data files(jpeg files, png files etc....). how are we going to open it? are we supposed to change every single call of data file or can we change some properties so it can be linked directly to the data folder?
robertianbelgica
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:50 am
Location: Philippines

Another problem

Post by robertianbelgica »

we already solved the problem but another problem occured. we cant open the data files(jpeg files, png files etc....). how are we going to open it? are we supposed to change every single call of data file or can we change some properties so it can be linked directly to the data folder?
Zurzaza
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:41 pm
Location: Filo (FE), Italy
Contact:

Post by Zurzaza »

You must include "ode_single.lib" into your project to make irrode libs work. ;)
In this case, he can't find the ode_single lib..maybe wrong path?
robertianbelgica
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:50 am
Location: Philippines

Post by robertianbelgica »

Yup. we were able to run it. but now a new probable occurs after the green menu an error prompt occurs where in it says. "could not open file of texture:../../data/standby.png"
Zurzaza
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2010 9:41 pm
Location: Filo (FE), Italy
Contact:

Post by Zurzaza »

robertianbelgica wrote:Yup. we were able to run it. but now a new probable occurs after the green menu an error prompt occurs where in it says. "could not open file of texture:../../data/standby.png"
simply...you must change the data's folder...you're maintaining original irrode's run-time include folder. So, the game is searching into "data" folder the standby.png image.
The solution are two:
- Change the path into the source code
- Copy the data folder into specified path
Post Reply