IrrODE - an Irrlicht - ODE wrapper (now with SVN)
I don't see a reason why it shouldn't get faster after a while. As said before even my netbook (where the Atom is the bottleneck) runs at 50FPS (but you have to wait for about 5-10 seconds for the scenery to settle).
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/
Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
I am sorry to say but I waited 10 minutes patiently and still 1 fps. I can even move the car, but on 1 fps it's ridiculous.Brainsaw wrote:I don't see a reason why it shouldn't get faster after a while. As said before even my netbook (where the Atom is the bottleneck) runs at 50FPS (but you have to wait for about 5-10 seconds for the scenery to settle).
Hmm ... OK ... nice to hear. Which compiler are you using? On my system the VC compiled demo is a lot slower than the gcc compiled one.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/
Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
That's nice. I haven't really tried to enhance the performance using VC, because I don't use it
New version online:
Fixed a little bug in the selection of objects in the IrrOdeCar demo: it now works for all objects that can be removed.
New version online:
Fixed a little bug in the selection of objects in the IrrOdeCar demo: it now works for all objects that can be removed.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/
Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
brainsaw, i've got a strange error while using your code.
I'm organizing my "engine code" into class, so i made a function called "initOde" in my "engine" class.
The class contains all irrlicht's environment allocated variables (smgr, device, ...), but everytime the function is called, when it try to alloc the worldnode (with addSceneNode), it returns me a NULL pointer.
I also tried to semplifying my function by pasting your original code:
but nothing changed.
The pointer pNode will also turn into a NULL pointer.
I'm organizing my "engine code" into class, so i made a function called "initOde" in my "engine" class.
The class contains all irrlicht's environment allocated variables (smgr, device, ...), but everytime the function is called, when it try to alloc the worldnode (with addSceneNode), it returns me a NULL pointer.
I also tried to semplifying my function by pasting your original code:
Code: Select all
bool Engine::initOde()
{
CIrrOdeSceneNodeFactory cFactory = CIrrOdeSceneNodeFactory(smgr);
smgr->registerSceneNodeFactory(&cFactory);
odeFactory = &cFactory;
CIrrOdeManager::getSharedInstance()->initODE();
//set IrrODE's timer
pTimer=device->getTimer();
CIrrOdeManager::getSharedInstance()->setTimer(pTimer);
if(!pTimer)
return false;
ISceneNode * parent = smgr->getRootSceneNode();
pNode=smgr->addSceneNode("abcd",parent);
worldNode=reinterpret_cast<CIrrOdeWorld *>(pNode);
if(pNode)
return true;
else
return false;
}
The pointer pNode will also turn into a NULL pointer.
Hmm ... I think in the line
you have to specify the type name of the scene node you want to add, so you should try "CIrrOdeWorld" instead of "abcd".
Code: Select all
pNode=smgr->addSceneNode("abcd",parent);
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/
Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:50 am
- Location: Philippines
Encountered an error
Hi i was able to compile all the library files and include it in the code unfortunately i encountered one error.
this the error prompt:
6>LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file '..\..\libs\ode-0.11-vc\lib\ReleaseSingleDLL\ode_single.lib'
pls i really need some help. Thanks
this the error prompt:
6>LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file '..\..\libs\ode-0.11-vc\lib\ReleaseSingleDLL\ode_single.lib'
pls i really need some help. Thanks
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:50 am
- Location: Philippines
Another problem
we already solved the problem but another problem occured. we cant open the data files(jpeg files, png files etc....). how are we going to open it? are we supposed to change every single call of data file or can we change some properties so it can be linked directly to the data folder?
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:50 am
- Location: Philippines
Another problem
we already solved the problem but another problem occured. we cant open the data files(jpeg files, png files etc....). how are we going to open it? are we supposed to change every single call of data file or can we change some properties so it can be linked directly to the data folder?
-
- Posts: 5
- Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 6:50 am
- Location: Philippines
simply...you must change the data's folder...you're maintaining original irrode's run-time include folder. So, the game is searching into "data" folder the standby.png image.robertianbelgica wrote:Yup. we were able to run it. but now a new probable occurs after the green menu an error prompt occurs where in it says. "could not open file of texture:../../data/standby.png"
The solution are two:
- Change the path into the source code
- Copy the data folder into specified path