Very simple LoadScene() Question [SOLVED]

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
julescoder
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 5:24 pm

Very simple LoadScene() Question [SOLVED]

Post by julescoder »

Hi,
I am loading a scene in an .irr file by calling LoadScene().

If i call it twice before the game loop begins, does the scenemanager load the scene twice in memory ??

I checked the output window in vs2010, it shows the App, loading the files and textures only once. But i wanted to make sure, cause the scene is quite huge.

Thanx in advance.
Last edited by julescoder on Sat Oct 02, 2010 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pc0de
Posts: 300
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 4:41 pm

Post by pc0de »

It looks to me like the scene nodes themselves would be loaded twice into the scene which means the nodes would be rendered twice for every iteration of your render loop.

The texture and mesh resources are cached so Irrlicht only loads them once even if they're used in more than one scene node.
julescoder
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2010 5:24 pm

Post by julescoder »

Ohh i c, yes the nodes could be loaded twice. So i will have to limit the call to once only.
Thanx very much for giving me this info.
Post Reply