IrrODE - an Irrlicht - ODE wrapper (now with SVN)

Announce new projects or updates of Irrlicht Engine related tools, games, and applications.
Also check the Wiki
serengeor
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

Post by serengeor »

JBGame wrote: If anyone can upload to rapidshare or something it'd be greatly appreciated.
http://rapidshare.com/files/421445980/irrode.zip

There you go :wink:
I used up my monthly allowance and my speed is at 64kbps(dial up speed), don't know why the connection is dropping though.
Owie, How much do you pay for this kind of internet connection?

I pay like 14USD for 7MB/s (Download in country) 2~MB/s (outside), upload 2.5MB/s (outside/inside)
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
JBGame
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2010 10:46 am

Post by JBGame »

Thanks alot (Y) :)

I live in australia and it's pretty expensive..atm $70 for cable,50 gb per month, i get around 2MB/s on australian sites, and 26 Mbps on speedtest.net...

EDIT: if i use up my monthly allowance, my internet gets slowed down to 64 Kbps..forgot to mention that :P
Kumulonimbus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:53 pm

Post by Kumulonimbus »

Hello.
This is not my video, but i have EXACTLY the same problem with irrlicht + irrODE: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UgqKzvFu5BY

can somebody put a simple example of a correct falling character (on his feet)?

all the examples use simple cubes and squeres which doesn't help me in this problem.

btw: i like irrODE very much :)
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

Although I haven't (yet) tried to implement a character you could take a look at the opende wiki: http://opende.sourceforge.net/wiki/inde ... ht_capsule.

If you want the "set rotation and speed after each simulation step" you can add a listener to the IrrOdeManager class's event queue and listen to "CIrrOdeEventStep" events which get posted after each simulation step. This would be a good place to reset the character's attributes.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
booe
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 29, 2010 2:12 pm

Post by booe »

That music...
Kumulonimbus wrote: can somebody put a simple example of a correct falling character (on his feet)?
all the examples use simple cubes and squeres which doesn't help me in this problem
Dude, ever heard of google? And what are squeres?
Image
Do you know who are they?
Kumulobus is the fourth one there...


Afff... check out ODE mailing archive:
http://www.ode.org/old_list_archives/20 ... 09454.html
And the so-called "raycar demo" source code.
http://www.enchantedage.com/raycar
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

OK, some little information about the progress: although I didn't upload a new version for some weeks I'm still working on the project. A user in the german Irrlicht forum reported that some files are missing in the archive, so I think I'll do a new upload this evening (after modifying my script that creates the archive ;) ), but in general I'm stuck at a point: under certain circumstances the IrrOdeCar demo stops working. I get this reproduced by rotating the helicopter to (0,90,0). From a thread I started on the ODE mailing list I know that this is a Gimbal Lock, I just haven't (yet) found a solution for the problem, but I'm working on it. Might take some time though, because I suck in maths ;).
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

I finally found a way around the gimbal lock problem in the IrrOdeCar demo. The current demo is working again. If you use IrrOde in your project you should just make sure that the initial rotation of a body does not cause a gimbal lock. It works, but it causes some jittering.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Kumulonimbus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:53 pm

Post by Kumulonimbus »

Hello again :)
I made a small example of a 3D-JumpnRun-Style Character Controller (using the Fairie and the Quake-Map of the Irrlicht Distribution). It's not perfect, but I'm (for now) happy with it :)

Here's a rar-file including source and binary (for Windows):

http://www.2shared.com/file/kFXTLRB5/ir ... pnRun.html

Arrow-Keys to move and Space (pressed!) to jump.
serengeor
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

Post by serengeor »

I think your demo is missing frame rate independent movement, it seems really slow on 1000 fps.
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

How do I download that file? Maybe I don't use these free upload services often enough, but all I get is some ads.

Anyways, nice to see someone uses my wrapper :D
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
Kumulonimbus
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 7:53 pm

Post by Kumulonimbus »

Brainsaw wrote:How do I download that file? Maybe I don't use these free upload services often enough, but all I get is some ads.

Anyways, nice to see someone uses my wrapper :D
The "buttons" in the middle of the site are just advertisement.
You need to click on "click here" next to "Save file to your PC" at the bottom of the page (written with a small text size).


@serengeor
yes i forgot about that :P
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

Kumulonimbus wrote:
Brainsaw wrote:How do I download that file? Maybe I don't use these free upload services often enough, but all I get is some ads.

Anyways, nice to see someone uses my wrapper :D
The "buttons" in the middle of the site are just advertisement.
You need to click on "click here" next to "Save file to your PC" at the bottom of the page (written with a small text size).


@serengeor
yes i forgot about that :P
OK, I'll try it when I'm back home (I don't want to download anything from a file sharing site here at work ;) ). Anyways, if you start a *real* homepage of the project I would add a list of "projects using Irrode" to the IrrOde homepage. This would be great.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
blackMasoon
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:57 pm
Contact:

Post by blackMasoon »

Hello
I'm trying to integrate IrrODE with my project. I use VC++ 2010. I did all the stuff with libraries & paths with the project. Here's what I get after trying:

Code: Select all

cFactory = new ode::CIrrOdeSceneNodeFactory(pManager->getSceneManager());
Errors:

Code: Select all

1>------ Build started: Project: VTEProject_, Configuration: Release Win32 ------
1>MSVCRTD.lib(MSVCR100D.dll) : error LNK2005: _printf already defined in LIBCMT.lib(printf.obj)
1>MSVCRTD.lib(ti_inst.obj) : error LNK2005: "private: __thiscall type_info::type_info(class type_info const &)" (??0type_info@@AAE@ABV0@@Z) already defined in LIBCMT.lib(typinfo.obj)
1>MSVCRTD.lib(ti_inst.obj) : error LNK2005: "private: class type_info & __thiscall type_info::operator=(class type_info const &)" (??4type_info@@AAEAAV0@ABV0@@Z) already defined in LIBCMT.lib(typinfo.obj)
1>LINK : warning LNK4098: defaultlib 'MSVCRTD' conflicts with use of other libs; use /NODEFAULTLIB:library
1>.\Release/VTEProject_.exe : fatal error LNK1169: one or more multiply defined symbols found
Brainsaw
Posts: 1177
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:57 pm
Location: Bavaria

Post by Brainsaw »

Hi,

I don't (normally) use VC, but google gave me a tip I will foreward: use the /NODEFAULTLIB:msvcrt.lib (or similar) to avoid such methods as printf being defined mutliple times.

I just hope the VC2008 lib provided within the package works with VC2010. Alternatievly you should compile the lib yourself, it isn't that difficult.
Dustbin::Games on the web: https://www.dustbin-online.de/

Dustbin::Games on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/dustbingames/
Dustbin::Games on twitter: https://twitter.com/dustbingames
blackMasoon
Posts: 149
Joined: Wed Sep 09, 2009 4:57 pm
Contact:

Post by blackMasoon »

I fixed it ;) thanks :)
Post Reply