BSP loaded empty? Octree (0 nodes, 0 polys)

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
t
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 2:59 am
Location: Australia

BSP loaded empty? Octree (0 nodes, 0 polys)

Post by t »

Hello,
I'm trying to load a .bsp file that I made. I made it in gtkradiant and tested it in quake 3. It works perfectly in quake 3, but when I load it with irrlicht, it doesn't appear, and the octree reports that the mesh has 0 nodes and 0 polygons.

Code: Select all

levelMesh = smgr->getMesh("media/tutorial.bsp");
levelNode = smgr->addOctTreeSceneNode(levelMesh->getMesh(0));
Warning: Could not find texture in Q3 .bsp:textures/base_wall/train1
Warning: Could not find texture in Q3 .bsp:textures/base_wall/metalfloor_wall_14
_specular
Warning: Could not find texture in Q3 .bsp:noshader
Warning: Could not find texture in Q3 .bsp:textures/base_wall/metfloor_block_3
Warning: Could not find texture in Q3 .bsp:textures/base_floor/concretefloor1
Warning: Could not find texture in Q3 .bsp:textures/gothic_ceiling/ceilingtech01
_f
Loaded mesh:media/tutorial.bsp
Needed 0ms to create OctTree SceneNode.(0 nodes, 0 polys)

Even though the textures aren't in the folder, it should still load the mesh, right? Any suggestions?
niko
Site Admin
Posts: 1759
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 4:44 am
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by niko »

The quake 3 mesh loader deletes geometry without textures on it. I know, that's not the nice way, and there should be a possiblity to switch this off. But it is currently done in this way, sorry. :(
t
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 2:59 am
Location: Australia

Post by t »

Thanks for the response. I got it working. Btw, the engine is really cool, imo the best available :)
Post Reply