DDS loader ??

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
xirtamatrix
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:03 pm
Location: Estonia

DDS loader ??

Post by xirtamatrix »

Hi,

Anyone got a working .dds loader? I urgently need a loader and only need dds textures to get loaded and nothing more.

Ages ago nadro wrote a loader but the link is dead and can't find the two files CImageLoaderDDS.cpp and CImageLoaderDDS.h
If anyone got these files can you please provide them to me? I'd be much obliged.
to live, is natural; to die, is not!
randomMesh
Posts: 1186
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 12:04 am

Re: DDS loader ??

Post by randomMesh »

There's a DDS loader in the irrExt repository.
"Whoops..."
xirtamatrix
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:03 pm
Location: Estonia

Re: DDS loader ??

Post by xirtamatrix »

randomMesh wrote:There's a DDS loader in the irrExt repository.

Many thanks! But how am I supposed to use it?
Is the main.cpp meant to be an example?

EDIT: I dont need to do any image handling, all I want is that if a mesh has .dds images applied they would be loaded automatically by loader. So if I do:

Code: Select all

 
               IrrlichtDevice *dev = createDevice( EDT_NULL, core::dimension2d<u32>(), 32, false, false, false, 0 );
               irrutils::CImageLoaderDDS *img = new irrutils::CImageLoaderDDS( dev->getVideoDriver() );
               dev->getVideoDriver()->addExternalImageLoader(img);
               img->drop();
 
 


would it then load dds images?
to live, is natural; to die, is not!
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Re: DDS loader ??

Post by hybrid »

Yes, that's the idea. Of course you also have to add the sources of the loader to your project.
xirtamatrix
Posts: 219
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 4:03 pm
Location: Estonia

Re: DDS loader ??

Post by xirtamatrix »

Thanks, it works.

FYI, it seems like there is no support for alpha.
All dds images with alpha channel don't get loaded.
to live, is natural; to die, is not!
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Re: DDS loader ??

Post by hybrid »

Another hint: We have a dds loader in the core engine as well. You just have to enable it in IrrCompileConfig.
Post Reply