Win32Window + OpenGL

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Win32Window + OpenGL

Post by CuteAlien »

Something I noticed while hunting for another bug, not sure right now if this is already known, but I found no other post about it.

When using OpenGL + "Window with button (via beginScene)" (pressing a,b) the skybox is missing and the background is just black. I think the box itself might also not be rendered exactly correct. Direct3D works.

This happens in svn 1.7.2 as well as in trunk and I tested it in VisualStudio.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Re: Win32Window + OpenGL

Post by hybrid »

Hmm, driver problem?
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Win32Window + OpenGL

Post by CuteAlien »

I don't think so, same effect on my Laptop as well.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Re: Win32Window + OpenGL

Post by hybrid »

Ok, tested what you mean. The problem should be related to a wrongly set up render context. We are just creating a button pane here, which is misused as the render target. This can only work properly if there's some low-level OpenGL handling done before. Don't know why we can see anything at all. Maybe some kind of sw rendering. As you can see, the winding order is wrongly set, which leads to the inverted box and probably also to the missing skybox. This has been like this ever since I added all those options.
Post Reply