Resizing errors

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
Qps
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:02 pm

Resizing errors

Post by Qps »

hi

im trying to resize my device, now i get errors and eventually a crash. The error i get is the following:

Direct3D9: (ERROR) :All user created D3DPOOL_DEFAULT surfaces must be freed before ResetEx can succeed. ResetEx Fails.

pVideodriver->OnResize(irr::core::dimension2d<irr::u32>(width, height));

This is the code i use to resize my device:

Code: Select all

pVideodriver->OnResize(irr::core::dimension2d<irr::u32>(width, height));
 
irr::scene::ISceneManager* pSceneManager = _device->getSceneManager();
if(pSceneManager)
{
  irr::scene::ICameraSceneNode* pCamera = pSceneManager->getActiveCamera();
  if(pCamera)
    pCamera->setAspectRatio((float)width / (float)height);
}
I see somone had some issues with resizing here too:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/forum/v ... ze#p253568

Hybrid said the following:
This was also fixed in a recent version of Irrlicht. IIRC, it was somewhere in the 1.7.x releases, but you might also check out the nightly built SVN version.
and
Well, since it would change existing applications, it might have gone into SVN/trunk only (i.e. ready for Irrlicht 1.8). Maybe give that version a try. There are not too many incompatibilities in the API, so updating should be rather straight forward.
Can i conclude that we are talking about the same issue here?

Anyway if someone has encountered the same issue and knows how to solve this please help point me in the right direction
hybrid
Admin
Posts: 14143
Joined: Wed Apr 19, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Oldenburg(Oldb), Germany
Contact:

Re: Resizing errors

Post by hybrid »

IIRC, the last time this problem came up was due to a forgotten release of a hw buffer. But it's always hard to check which ressources lead to this kind of error. But in those cases tested the reset now properly works.
Qps
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 2:02 pm

Re: Resizing errors

Post by Qps »

I was using 1.7.2 and upgraded my project to 1.7.3 yesterday, havent seen the problem since.

thanks
Post Reply