Hello,
I try the MY3d exporter from ZDimitor:
http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... hp?t=4417]
and it's an excellent work.
All is OK when i load only one file.But with two files,textures of the second file are not good, they are the textures of the first file.(my poor english...)
thx for help
MY3D export problem
-
- Posts: 28
- Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 9:09 am
- Location: Annecy - FRANCE
-
- Posts: 28
- Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 9:09 am
- Location: Annecy - FRANCE
I found the problem, to fix it you must in the begin of function createMesh(io::IReadFile* file) add this string:
Code: Select all
IAnimatedMesh* CMY3DMeshFileLoader::createMesh(
io::IReadFile* file
)
{
// add this string
MaterialEntry.clear();
...
}
-
- Posts: 28
- Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 9:09 am
- Location: Annecy - FRANCE
ok
I will try this.
I think you are a good 3dmax plugin programmer,so i have another question:
there is a problem with the export of the normals.This problem already exist with 3ds export and not with X export.
Only one normal is exported with one triangle and not one normal per vertex.So the model look like flat shading.
To see the difference, you can draw juste one sphere ,export in .MY3d then export in .X.
To solve this,i must recompute each normal for each point.
It's work but it's extremely slow.And i must make this operation each time i launch the program.
So my question: can you recompute the normals with your exporter?
and thx for the fixed bug.
congratulation for your work.
I will try this.
I think you are a good 3dmax plugin programmer,so i have another question:
there is a problem with the export of the normals.This problem already exist with 3ds export and not with X export.
Only one normal is exported with one triangle and not one normal per vertex.So the model look like flat shading.
To see the difference, you can draw juste one sphere ,export in .MY3d then export in .X.
To solve this,i must recompute each normal for each point.
It's work but it's extremely slow.And i must make this operation each time i launch the program.
So my question: can you recompute the normals with your exporter?
and thx for the fixed bug.
congratulation for your work.
Yes I can (I can compute them manually or I can use MAX normals),
but if you are using lightmapped scenes, you don'y need normals at all.
As you can see the struct SMyVertex contain Normal info, just in current version i not use it yet.
but if you are using lightmapped scenes, you don'y need normals at all.
Code: Select all
struct SMyVertex
{ SMyVertex () {;}
SMyVertex (SMyVector3 _Coord, SMyColor _Color, SMyVector3 _Normal)
:Coord(_Coord), Color(_Color), Normal(_Normal) {;}
SMyVector3 Coord;
SMyColor Color; // not implemented yet in 3dsmax exporter
SMyVector3 Normal; // not implemented yet in 3dsmax exporter
} PACK_STRUCT;
-
- Posts: 28
- Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 9:09 am
- Location: Annecy - FRANCE
You are right.but if you are using lightmapped scenes, you don'y need normals at all.
But if i use a lot of mesh, i MUST apply a texture for all the mesh.
I make a huge terrain with a lot of tree. I use lightmap for terrain texture but not
for the tree texture and not for the leaf of the tree.
So, with MY3d, my terrain is splendid but my tree are flat shading.
That why i tell you if you can export the "real normals" and not the "3ds normals".
thx ZDimitor.
about your terrain
can u post a screenshot of your terrain with the lightmap from MY3D???
Thx
Thx