GUI element removal

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
chermman

GUI element removal

Post by chermman »

Although this question definitly is a evilly n00bish one, I can't actually seem capable of finding the anwser...

Since I'm buidling thisngs from the ground up, I included lua, and a nice console system. Creating the output listbox/textbox is not a problem, but I somehow doubt that the user will be happy about seeing a big console window taking half of his screen, so the ingenious idea of hiding/deleting the GUI element was born in my head. All is fine, but neither drop()ping nor delete ing is a good solution, and counter-intuitive as it is, the GUI manager doesn't have, AFAIK, any functions for deleting unwanted GUI elements.

Summary, in case you're lazy: How can I delete a textbox/listbox?
DarkWhoppy
Posts: 386
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 12:43 pm
Contact:

Post by DarkWhoppy »

lol, tried "remove()" ? Feel free to ask any question, noobish or not! Thats what the forums are for 8)

http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/docu/cl ... t.html#a10

Browse through the API for functions....

http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/docu/index.html
Programmer of the Irrlicht Scene Editor:
Homepage - Forum Thread
Version 2 on its way!!
Guest

Post by Guest »

I thought that worked only with some GUI tree stuff something...

which in fact brings me to the question - what does adding a child node do? Does it dissapear when the mother element dissapears and takes the mother element as the relative coord system or what?
bal
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Jun 18, 2004 5:19 pm
Location: Geluwe, Belgium

Post by bal »

Yes. It also moves when the parent moves.
General Tools List
General FAQ
System: AMD Barton 2600+, 512MB, 9600XT 256MB, WinXP + FC3
Tyn
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 7:53 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Tyn »

Or you can hide with setVisible(true)
DarkWhoppy
Posts: 386
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2003 12:43 pm
Contact:

Post by DarkWhoppy »

Tyn wrote:Or you can hide with setVisible(true)

Not trying to be a smartass, but it's "false" not "true" It's a simple mistake.

setVisible(false);
Programmer of the Irrlicht Scene Editor:
Homepage - Forum Thread
Version 2 on its way!!
Tyn
Posts: 932
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2003 7:53 pm
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Tyn »

Well spotted, the intentional mistake ;)
Post Reply