[BUG] ITextSceneNode & IBillboardTextSceneNode

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
gerdb
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:21 pm
Location: Dresden, Germany

[BUG] ITextSceneNode & IBillboardTextSceneNode

Post by gerdb »

hi, i got many bugs when using Text 'functionality'

#1 ITextSceneNode & IBillboardTextSceneNode dont understand linebreaks or tabs !!! ( wtf )

#2 IBillboardSceneNode does not work with custom fonts ( CGUITTFont )

#3 CGUITTFont displays poop ( characters are always corrupted/incomplete independent of font + visible spaces between characters )

#4 No text-drawing to IImage ( i made a workaround with font->draw --> RTT --> image )

i know #3 is not official, just wanted to mention it, irrlicht too much lacks support for text-drawing for my taste. #1 is really bad.

thx

using OGL + Linux64 + irr-svn
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [BUG] ITextSceneNode & IBillboardTextSceneNode

Post by CuteAlien »

Yes, we have no single text-wrapping class in Irrlicht. Which is why stuff like line-breaking is independently implemented all over code (with different problems). I wanted to work on that last year, but got stuck in finding a lot of related gui-problems before even being able to approach this one. So the answer to all this is - we need a good line-breaking utility class in Irrlicht and replace all the custom solutions by that. Which we don't have so far.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
hendu
Posts: 2600
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: [BUG] ITextSceneNode & IBillboardTextSceneNode

Post by hendu »

#4 No text-drawing to IImage ( i made a workaround with font->draw --> RTT --> image )
Drawing text completely cpu-side, to an image in cpu-accessible memory, is not really what a graphics engine should be doing... What are you doing with the text that needs it to be on the cpu?
Post Reply