move cameraFPS without drawAll()

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
Mauin
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon May 13, 2013 1:29 pm

move cameraFPS without drawAll()

Post by Mauin »

is there a way to have the cameraFPS listen to events (mouse etc) without calling smgr->drawAll() ?
Cube_
Posts: 1010
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2011 10:03 pm
Location: 0x45 61 72 74 68 2c 20 69 6e 20 74 68 65 20 73 6f 6c 20 73 79 73 74 65 6d

Re: move cameraFPS without drawAll()

Post by Cube_ »

You are aware that the scene wouldn't update if you did that, right? (aka you'd move the camera but the frame on the screen would be the same)
"this is not the bottleneck you are looking for"
sudi
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 8:38 pm

Re: move cameraFPS without drawAll()

Post by sudi »

and besides that i am pretty certain that the camera receives events when you call IrrlichtDevice::run and not on ISceneManager::drawAll
We're programmers. Programmers are, in their hearts, architects, and the first thing they want to do when they get to a site is to bulldoze the place flat and build something grand. We're not excited by renovation:tinkering,improving,planting flower beds.
serengeor
Posts: 1712
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 7:34 pm
Location: Lithuania

Re: move cameraFPS without drawAll()

Post by serengeor »

Sudi wrote:and besides that i am pretty certain that the camera receives events when you call IrrlichtDevice::run and not on ISceneManager::drawAll
what about animators, they won't get called, or will they?
Working on game: Marrbles (Currently stopped).
sudi
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 8:38 pm

Re: move cameraFPS without drawAll()

Post by sudi »

serengeor wrote:
Sudi wrote:and besides that i am pretty certain that the camera receives events when you call IrrlichtDevice::run and not on ISceneManager::drawAll
what about animators, they won't get called, or will they?
Animators are run inside the drawAll call before rendering.
We're programmers. Programmers are, in their hearts, architects, and the first thing they want to do when they get to a site is to bulldoze the place flat and build something grand. We're not excited by renovation:tinkering,improving,planting flower beds.
sudi
Posts: 1686
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 8:38 pm

Re: move cameraFPS without drawAll()

Post by sudi »

but seriously just check the source code...its there....right there
We're programmers. Programmers are, in their hearts, architects, and the first thing they want to do when they get to a site is to bulldoze the place flat and build something grand. We're not excited by renovation:tinkering,improving,planting flower beds.
Post Reply