model picking in irrlicht

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
anirban
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:48 am

model picking in irrlicht

Post by anirban »

hello everyone....I am trying model picking in irrlicht. independently its working perfect.But, when I am trying to integrate it with vuforia,it stops working. Can anyone please help me out.
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: model picking in irrlicht

Post by CuteAlien »

I don't know vuforia (well I googled it - just never worked with it). But a general hint - when you ask for help you have to tell people _exactly_ what you are doing. Which usually means that you have to post your code. And you have to explain exactly what is going wrong. We don't see what is going on at your computer - so all we have is the information your posting. And just saying it stops working - well - for all we know you might have pulled the plug in your computer while working on that :-)
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
anirban
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 4:48 am

Re: model picking in irrlicht

Post by anirban »

hey cutealien...I am really sorry for not giving the details...actually i am trying to build an augmented reality application using vuforia and irrlicht. vuforia helps in image recognition and gives me the model view projection matrix of the target image. I use that to place 3d models on that image. I am using irrlicht for rendering 3d models. Now, I need to include model picking in my application. so at first i tried to do it independently on irrlicht. First I used triangle selector to set triangle selector on each and every animatedmeshscenenode. then i created a ray which will start from the point on the screen where i tap using getRayFromScreenCoordinates().then i selected the nodes using getSceneNodeAndCollisionPointFromRay(). everything is working fine when I am running irrlicht independently. But,once i integrate it with vuforia,it does not work.I tap on the screen but no model gets selected. i hope i have provided every required detail now. I am building this application for ios.
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: model picking in irrlicht

Post by CuteAlien »

Well - as long as the Irrlicht code doesn't change it will run the same way. I don't know what you mean with integration - maybe you pass the wrong coordinates to Irrlicht?
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
Post Reply