Vidmode picks bad fullscreen mode

You discovered a bug in the engine, and you are sure that it is not a problem of your code? Just post it in here. Please read the bug posting guidelines first.
Post Reply
hendu
Posts: 2600
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:53 pm

Vidmode picks bad fullscreen mode

Post by hendu »

On some systems, there are a number of "best resolutions", each with different refresh rate and settings.

The current code picks the last mode, which on one user's system was the worst possible one ( http://pastebin.com/iWnDbmnB ) - 30Hz interlaced (eww!).

Patch that ignores interlaced modes, and in addition tries not to modeset at all if possible:

https://github.com/clbr/seirr/commit/bd ... 2918249453
https://github.com/clbr/seirr/commit/0c ... 8d2c84832c

edit: Updated pastebin link.
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9651
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Vidmode picks bad fullscreen mode

Post by CuteAlien »

Be careful with using other resolutions than the desktop has on X11. I learned recently that chances are pretty high on Linux that this will fail with some DM's no matter if you use vidmode or randr. See this link for more info: http://forums.libsdl.org/viewtopic.php? ... e24f2ec4e3

If I find time (unlikely, but one can dream), I'll try if using render-to-texture with smaller resolutions will give enough speed-boost on Linux so I don't have to ever change resolutions.

Anyway - your patch still makes sense to me on first view.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
hendu
Posts: 2600
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:53 pm

Re: Vidmode picks bad fullscreen mode

Post by hendu »

This was hit when using the desktop res.
Post Reply