[RESOLVED] Can't draw lines

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
Akas
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Kleve, Germany

[RESOLVED] Can't draw lines

Post by Akas »

Hi,

i have a Problem with exporting my Program to other Computers.

In my development environment Irrlicht can draw lines.
When the Project got compiled on my Computer and run on another the lines are not drawn.

I found, that this Problem only occurs on Computers with different Graphics card manufacturer.
My Computer use a nVidia graphic card, my VM a virtual graphic card and the other Computer an ATI.
But another Computer, which uses a nVidia graphic card, shows the lines, too.

Do you have any idea what i could do?

Thank you :)
Last edited by Akas on Fri Nov 13, 2015 10:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Akas
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Kleve, Germany

Re: [RESOLVED] Can't draw lines

Post by Akas »

I resolved the problem.

It was an incompatibility with OpenGL.
When I'm using the DirectX9 Driver everything works fine.
Last edited by Akas on Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [RESOLVED] Can't draw lines

Post by CuteAlien »

Hm, lines should work with OpenGL as well. If you have code for us to test - maybe we can see something.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
Akas
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Kleve, Germany

Re: [RESOLVED] Can't draw lines

Post by Akas »

Well, yes.
Lines work with OpenGL on my Computer and every Computer which is using nVidia, too.
Just AMD, VMware SVGA 3D and Intel graphic cards don't draw Lines with OpenGL Driver.
It's nothing Special. Im just drawing a line from point x to point y with Color white.

Sorry, i'm not allowed to share Code Examples.
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [RESOLVED] Can't draw lines

Post by CuteAlien »

Ah well, if you know it's really a driver thing we can't do anything anyway. Not sharing code examples... just wow. I get not sharing the real code of a company, but not allowing to share code snippets to help locating a bug? Your company is making it's own life very hard :-)
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
Akas
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:44 pm
Location: Kleve, Germany

Re: [RESOLVED] Can't draw lines

Post by Akas »

Well, the Point where the line gets generated is hard to find for me.
I'm just creating an C++ DLL for using the sources of another programmer in C#.
I understand the Basics/Concept of Irrlicht and understand what happening in the code.
But i'm unable to create an example in a few seconds.

That i can't share code snippets was wrongly expressed. It would be possible, but the only thing i could post are multiple parts of the code which handles the lines.

I'm trying to build an snippet which shows how the lines got created, but i can't guarantee anything.
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: [RESOLVED] Can't draw lines

Post by CuteAlien »

Yeah, no problem. No need for work if you already know it's the driver :-)
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
Post Reply