Problem with importing b3d models

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
sta24
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 10:07 am

Problem with importing b3d models

Post by sta24 »

Hello,

We are currently trying to import a model in Irrlicht coming from Adobe MIXAMO and assembled with its animations using Blender.
The problem is we tried using .dae format and the model appears but no animation comes, even when we use the setFrameLoop() function.

We saw that we can use .b3d format so we tried using it and exporting it using this script :
https://sourceforge.net/p/supertuxkart/ ... rt.py#l160
but the model doesn't appear and shows an unexpected error :

Could not load mesh, file format seems to be unsupported: ./zombie.b3d.

So we tried with another script but we had not one but two errors :
tex_coord_sets or tex_coord_set_size too big: zombie.b3d
Could not load mesh, file format seems to be unsupported: ./zombie.b3d


Could you please help us resolving this problem? We are using Windows 7 for Blender 2.77 and Linux to code (C++).

Thanks.
Vectrotek
Competition winner
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by Vectrotek »

The Blender "*.b3d" exporter is known to be problematic.
If you can export your skinned model from blender to something else like "*.x" or "*.dae",
you can try "Frag Motion" http://www.fragmosoft.com/fragMOTION/index.php to then export it to "*.b3d".
This program is the only decent B3D exporter I know of.
It is a fully working demo which you can use indefinitely
with the "7 Day" licence. I've been using it for years.

You could also look at my notes: http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/forum/v ... 18&t=50855
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by CuteAlien »

Hm, Blender b3d exporter is probably the most used one here. "dae"animations are not supported in Irrlicht. ".X" has a slight chance of working but usually not better than b3d.

But I need the model to help with debugging this - otherwise I can't do anything.
Or even better would be the blender model so I can experiment with exporting it myself.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
sta24
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by sta24 »

Hello,

Thanks for your help !
We get our model in .dae format with Mixamo and then tried to import it in FragMotion.
But the program stopped working...
So we tried with the same model but without animation, and then it worked.
We succeeded to make the model appear in Irrlicht, so it's a good thing, but we can still not import animated models...

EDIT :
Forgot to mention that the program with the model that worked throws this error many times :
Unknown chunk found in node chunk - skipping

And the textures doesn’t work...
PNG warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
Vectrotek
Competition winner
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by Vectrotek »

I don't know what your blender file looks like, but here is one that I did (model from Dishonored).
I use Blender 2.7.6 and Blender 2.4.9 because the Blender 2.4.9 X exporter works best.
I usually do all the work in Blender 2.76 then save the file with "Legacy" format.
I also export the Bones Animation as Bio-vision's "*.bvh".
Then I open Blender 2.49 and open the saved "legacy" file. (the Weights remained intact)
The legacy file do not include the animation though, so In Blender I delete the existing armature
before importing the "*.bvh" file generated in Blender 2.7.6.

Then I export the object as "*.x" from Blender using the X plugin (see included Blender 2.49 file)..

Here is the Blender 2.49 file.. (no textures as they are quite big)
The Script for exporting as "*.x" is in the text window.. Just run the script..
You MUST use the included script with Blender 2.49.. (Always have Blender 2.4.9 in your tool chest)

http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=971 ... 1721768091
(the script should be in the text window and if it isn't tell me)


STEPS:
1. Create or open animated Model in Blender 2.7.xx
2. Save the file as "legacy" format.
3. Export the Animated Armature as "*.bvh" (Bio-vision)
3. Close Blender 2.7.xx
4. In Blender 2.49 open the legacy "*.blend" file.
5. Smile because your Weights and Vertex Group Names survived.
6. Delete the Existing Animation-Less Armature.
7. Import the Bio-vision "*.bvh", make sure about "scale" and
Hook the Armature to the Model.
The Bio-vision Bone names do match your Vertex Weight names!
8. Export the animation as "*.x" using the script.
9. Open the "*.x" in Frag Motion before Exporting it as "*.bvh"

That was the basics and you should experiment like Cute Alien said..

Here are versions of the animated model as exported from Blender 2.49 using this script..
This model was imported and re-exported from Frag Motion that fixes some minor "*.x" things..
The (good) "*.b3d" version was exported from Frag-motion..

Here is the "*.bvh" Skeleton (from Blender 2.7.X)..
http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=443 ... 6672690416

Here is the "*.b3d" Version (from FragMotion)..
http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=012 ... 7880057183

Here is the bigger "*.x" Version (from Blender then FragMotion)..
http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=004 ... 4615173834

Let me know if there was any problems..
sta24
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by sta24 »

Thanks again, we tried your b3d model and it worked !
But we are not really used to Blender (and even less to 2.49) so could you explain how to hook the armature to the model (point 6)?
Vectrotek
Competition winner
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by Vectrotek »

Could you open the file in Blender 2.49?
sta24
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by sta24 »

Yes
Vectrotek
Competition winner
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by Vectrotek »

I've set my Blender 2.49 so that select is done with "Left" mouse like other 3D Aps..
O.K.

Select the Model..
While holding Shift, select the Armature..
Press CTL-P..
Select Armature..
Vectrotek
Competition winner
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by Vectrotek »

Don't Create Groups.
sta24
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by sta24 »

Ok, thanks, it worked !
Now we just need to scale armature to the model...
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9734
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by CuteAlien »

The png warning doesn't matter (it's a png lib thing, but not important, it can still read those textures to my knowledge).

Do you use an Irrlicht version which is at least 1.8.2? Because there had been some b3d fixes in that.
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
sta24
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by sta24 »

Ok, thanks for the png warning.
And, we use 1.9 version.
Vectrotek
Competition winner
Posts: 1087
Joined: Sat May 02, 2015 5:05 pm

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by Vectrotek »

needs review..
Last edited by Vectrotek on Wed May 18, 2016 8:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sta24
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 10:07 am

Re: Problem with importing b3d models

Post by sta24 »

Hi Vectrotek,
We tried with 1.0 scale and it seemed to work but the arms and the neck are distorted.
Is it because of the animation or is it a bad setting ?
Post Reply