How to add irr-scene to node?

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9652
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to add irr-scene to node?

Post by CuteAlien »

Sorry, I won't be able to help much I think. Your flags look correct. Although the default-font is unfortunately trying to create it's texture in a 32-bit format (second time today I run into a problem with this font - strange stuff...). But I don't expect this to affect other textures.

I can't test with Direct3D8 - I no longer have a text-environment for this. Is there a reason you can't use OpenGL or Direct3D9? Well D3D9 maybe too new for Voodoo 2, but OpenGL might work?

With D3D9 it creates the textures here in a 16-bit format with your flags. You can check that by setting a breakpoint in CD3D9Texture::createTexture at this place:
ColorFormat = Driver->getColorFormatFromD3DFormat(format);
(similar for D3D8Texture I suppose, the code is pretty identical).
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
alko
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:14 am

Re: How to add irr-scene to node?

Post by alko »

CuteAlien wrote: for Voodoo 2, but OpenGL might work?


I use dll-wrapper opengl-to-glide.
due to which it works like on modern hardware
alko
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:14 am

Re: How to add irr-scene to node?

Post by alko »

Hmmmm... this trouble (non-disabled filtering) applies to any model where set attribute in CopperCube "transparent (alpha-channel)"
Image

Besides depth-test are glitched.

Image

If I set solid material - filtering disappears and depth test is ok

Image
CuteAlien
Admin
Posts: 9652
Joined: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 pm
Location: Tübingen, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to add irr-scene to node?

Post by CuteAlien »

alko wrote:
CuteAlien wrote: for Voodoo 2, but OpenGL might work?


I use dll-wrapper opengl-to-glide.
due to which it works like on modern hardware
But your example used Direct3D8? If you can use OpenGL - do you get the same results?
IRC: #irrlicht on irc.libera.chat
Code snippet repository: https://github.com/mzeilfelder/irr-playground-micha
Free racer made with Irrlicht: http://www.irrgheist.com/hcraftsource.htm
alko
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:14 am

Re: How to add irr-scene to node?

Post by alko »

But your example used Direct3D8? If you can use OpenGL - do you get the same results?

I tried opengl too. On modern hardware.
The result is the same
alko
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 10:14 am

Re: How to add irr-scene to node?

Post by alko »

I open irr-file (generated by copperCube) :shock:
Image
Post Reply