the new 3d formats, how do they work?

You are an experienced programmer and have a problem with the engine, shaders, or advanced effects? Here you'll get answers.
No questions about C++ programming or topics which are answered in the tutorials!
Post Reply
Xception
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:05 am

the new 3d formats, how do they work?

Post by Xception »

I tried loading the new built in 3D formats.
Cartography Shop is working with textures and lightmap.
The oct format did not load at all, but that could be a problem of fsrad, I don't know, the program just closed and left a 12 MB big oct file on my desktop.
my3d and lmts either just show the textures or just the lightmap, I don'T know anymore which format did what.
Even with the meshviewer it does not work right.
What's the problem?
Did anybody get my3d and lmts to work with the built in loaders?
jox
Bug Slayer
Posts: 726
Joined: Thu Apr 22, 2004 6:55 pm
Location: Germany

Post by jox »

If you use the LMTS loader (which I wrote btw) then you should know that only *.3.lmts files have lightmaps included.
It is like it is. And because it is like it is, things are like they are.
MikeR
Posts: 767
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2004 4:03 pm
Location: Northern California USA
Contact:

Post by MikeR »

The meshviewer is buggy becouse it is only 50% complete
If it exists in the real world, it can be created in 3d

Sys specs:
AMD 3700+ 64 processor
1.0 gb ram
e-Geforce 6600 graphics 256 mb onboard ram
Xception
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:05 am

Post by Xception »

I used the *.3.lmts file.
LMDX shows it correctly, I tried my own map and the Pulsar Sample map.
But in Irrlicht the lightmaps don'T show, just the map with textures without lightmap.
I used the Quake3Map example sourcecode to test it with Visual C++ 6.
According to the log window all textures and the lightmaps are loaded.
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

for using my3d internally:

Code: Select all

// load .my3d file and set texture path
	smgr->getStringParameters()->setParameter(scene::MY3D_TEXTURE_PATH, "./yourtexturepath/"); 
scene::IAnimatedMesh* mesh;
mesh = smgr->getMesh("./data/your3dmodel.my3d");
Last edited by afecelis on Sat Apr 09, 2005 7:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Xception
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:05 am

Post by Xception »

cool, my3d is working now, it did not work before because I did not use getMesh with the "./" in the filename.
Therefore Irrlicht tried to load textures with "D" before the filename.
I don'T know why it tried to do that and what "./" means but it is working now.

lmts is still not working, textures and lightmaps are now flipped vertically.
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

resave them in irfanview and they'll get corrected. It's a know bug. Irfanview solves it.


http://www.irfanview.com/

best of all i sthat it's free :D
Xception
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:05 am

Post by Xception »

OK, lmts is working now but now I have problems with my3d again.
My tiled material is now stretched with the max exporter and with the giles exporter I can only see a black model without textures and lightmap.

edit: I had to use "UVW map" modifier in MAX, now it's working.
Xception
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 10:05 am

giles my3d

Post by Xception »

I can't get giles my3d exported scenes to work.
Everything is black.
If I set lighting to false it has a reflective material.
Setting it to a lightmap material does not work ,too.
It seems that the uvw texture coordinates are wrong for the lightmap.
How do you export correctly from giles?
Do you have to use a certain map channel for lightmaps or what?
Is tehre a sample scene in giles format that works?
Post Reply