Quake 3 tutorial issues

If you are a new Irrlicht Engine user, and have a newbie-question, this is the forum for you. You may also post general programming questions here.
Post Reply
Guest

Quake 3 tutorial issues

Post by Guest »

I just found the engine today, and have been forum surfing and tutorial experimenting for the past 8 hours. In all my searching, and yes I did try the actual forum search button, I have not found an answer to this question. Though it is very possible that I missed it. Basically I compile and run the quake 3 tutorial, I am using dev c++ btw. And it runs fine, until it tries to actually load the .bsp file. It says it is unable to open it. If someone could tell me what I am missing, and also, if I want it to load other .bsp files what I would have to change to accomplish that as well?

thanks in advance
Electron
Posts: 874
Joined: Sun Mar 14, 2004 12:05 am
Location: Massachusetts USA

Post by Electron »

have a look at the path where the engine tries to load the .bsp from and make sure it's correct. I think its loading it from a .pk3 (zip) archive. If everything seems ot be correct, extract the bsp and textures and put them in the same directory as your executable. If it works now then something was wrong with the specified path. If it still doesn't work then there's a definite problem.
You do a lot of programming? Really? I try to get some in, but the debugging keeps me pretty busy.

Crucible of Stars
Guest

Post by Guest »

Make sure the pk3 file is where the program expects it. Pk3's are really zipfiles, and they contain the bsp files, textures, item/monster placement etc.

If your code says:

Code: Select all

device->getFileSystem()->addZipFileArchive("../../media/map-20kdm2.pk3");
And you run your prgram in, say: C:\irrlicht\tutorials\tutorial2
Then you need to have the pk3 file in C:\irrlicht\media

Now, if you read everything again, and also read the tutorial again, I think you'll be able to figure out on your own, how to load a different bsp.
Taliesen
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 7:39 am

Post by Taliesen »

That gives a little more insight, I will check the path for the quake map. Now what if I wanted to load a map that I have created say for...Counter-strike? it is a bsp, with the textures and sounds and what not stored in a wad file. is that also merely a zip that can be unpacked in the same way or would I need to seperatly load both files?
Taliesen
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 7:39 am

Post by Taliesen »

Alright, I got the quake 3 map to work, but only in opengl mode, and last I checked my computer does run direct x 9.0, but I will check that too. Secondly I figured out what I had to do to load my own bsp, I added the bsp and the wadfiles that I used for it into a zip and made sure the path was correct. However it says that the file format .bsp is unsupported, even though I just loaded a quake map, which uses the same file format to my understanding, did I do something else wrong or is it not possible to load a counter-strike bsp at this time?
Guest

Post by Guest »

is it not possible to load a counter-strike bsp at this time?
Bingo! We have a winner.
Even though they're both BSPs, only quake 3 BSPs are supported by Irrlicht.
Although someone else may have written an importer for it.

BSP means Binary Space Partition - it stands for a method of organizing your level into parts, not really for a specific file format.
Taliesen
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 7:39 am

Post by Taliesen »

Then, any suggestions on what I should do? As I do not own a copy of quake 3, so am unable to create maps in the quake 3 format in worldcraft. Is there a better world building program out there that I can use for free that is supported by this engine? Or if anyone has made a loader for counter-strike bsp files that would be just as good.
afecelis
Admin
Posts: 3075
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2004 10:44 pm
Location: Colombia
Contact:

Post by afecelis »

check this tutorial using quark and q3map2 with the q3map2build frontend. You won't need Q3 installed to get a valid bsp into Irrlicht.

http://irrlicht.sourceforge.net/phpBB2/ ... php?t=6344
Sol
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2005 1:13 am
Location: Louisiana, USA
Contact:

Post by Sol »

Grr, so I guess that means that that cool map for Jedi Outcast won't work either.
But what about the models for players? They're .bsp and I'm guessing not made the same way. (maybe...)
Midnight
Posts: 1772
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 2:37 pm
Location: Wonderland

Post by Midnight »

there are several 1000 posts on this topic find them...

ok there is like 5 but thats still alot.
Guest

Post by Guest »

I've been looking but can't figure out how to load the pk3 file in C#.

Any help?
Post Reply